Pineapple in the jars

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Before we start


Instead of buying pineapple in the cans in the nearest supermarket, I recommend preparing your own version of that delicious snack at home. Not only it will be cheaper, but also be tastier and healthier. Pineapple in the can is too sweet for me. When I am making my own version, I can apply as much sugar as I want. I'm also sure that it doesn't contain any preservatives and other unnecessary ingredients.

As the eco-friendly freak, I remind you also that preparing self-products in the jars at home is much better for the environment. We can reuse jars so we do not produce any trash.

IMG_20210516_175509.jpg


Ingredients
(4 x 500 ml jars):
🍍 2 pineapples
🍍 3 glasses of sugar
🍍 4 glasses of water


1️⃣
Peel the pineapple and remove the hard part from the middle.


2️⃣
Prepare the syrup. Boil the water with sugar, mixing it well.


3️⃣
Chop the pineapple into small cubes. That step is optional. If you prefer to keep your pineapple in the ring form, it's okay. Make sure you have big enough yars though.


4️⃣
Boil the pineapple in the syrup for a while (approx 5-10 minutes) until it will be soft


5️⃣
It's time to prepare the jars and taps. Burn it in hot water. Remember that if you will not sterilize jars properly, your pineapple can quickly become broken so make sure it's very clean


6️⃣
Put the hot pineapple and syrup into the jars, twist it well and pasteurize jars for 30 minutes


7️⃣
It's recommended to put the jars upside down until it will cool. That will help in closing taps better. If any of your jars was not closed well enough and it's leaking now, close it again ad rear pasteurization. If the problem repeats, probably the tap is broken - change it for another.


It's ready! You can store the pineapple in any cool and dark place even for a year. After opening, keep the jar in the fridge and eat in 3 days.

Bon appetit!
Smacznego!

IMG_20210516_175504.jpg


All the photos included in the post belong to me.

Thank you for reading,
@papi.mati

Sort:  

This is the first time that I have seen this kind of recipe. I also love pineapples, as the pineapple season is approaching here in our country I will definitely try this one out.

I'm glad you like the recipe and I'm sure you will love the taste of pineapple from the jar 😁

Have a wonderful day!