Bake with Patsitivity #3: My boyfriend's favorite cookies

Cream and Brown Simple Cookies Facebook Post (1).png


"Ka swerte gud sa imong mabana."

In English, that means whoever I will be marrying could be the luckiest guy in the world. 😂

Is that true? Sometimes yes and sometimes no; it depends if the output of my monthly experiments in the kitchen will be great or not-so-great. As I've previously mentioned, it's on my monthly checklist to bake at least one new recipe every single month and on top of that, another new main dish recipe per month as well. I'm usually home on weekends and the best way to spend quality time with my family is to keep the kitchen bustling.

Today, what I'll be sharing with you is my boyfriend's favorite. I remember making the first experimental batch in July last year and I couldn't forget how much he liked it; he even shared it to his workmate/s. We recently made it together with my nephew and niece at home.


THE INGREDIENTS

First, we'd run through the necessary ingredients to make this one-of-a-kind cookie recipe. What I'd usually do is measure and prepare all the ingredients before mixing them. But if you're the type who would measure and mix at the same time, please find the complete list of ingredients at the later part of this post.

Whole rolled oats

One of the main ingredients of this recipe is the whole rolled oats. I was happy that I found one in my small hometown. Measure 2 cups (180g) old-fashioned whole rolled oats. Set aside.
viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-45-638.jpg

All-purpose flour

For this recipe, you'd be needing 1 and 1/2 cups (188g) of all-purpose flour. Make sure to spoon and level it to avoid excess flour. We don't want to end up with a tough textured cookie.
viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-53-247.jpg

Eggs

Next, make sure you have 2 large eggs. If you happen to store your eggs in your refrigerator, make sure you pull them out of the ref and use them only when they're at room temperature. Baking should be as precise as possible, so be guided accordingly.

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-55-395.jpg

Fats

What was initially required by this recipe is 1 cup of softened (at room temperature) butter but I've used margarine too and it worked pretty the same. The main difference would be the final output's texture. I've noted that the batch I made with butter is more brittle. So if you like your cookies to be crunchy/crispy, I'd go for butter. But if you want them to be heading towards the bread texture, margarine gave me just that. Also if you don't have a refrigerator, you might want to use margarine which is more stable than butter.

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-51-017.jpg

Sugars

If you're wondering why there should be granulated sugar (white sugar) and brown sugar in the recipe when in fact, they're both just sources of sweetness. Well, they don't deliver the same thing and sugars ain't just about sweetness. You take one you'll miss the chance of creating the perfect cookies. For this recipe, you'll need 1 cup (200g) of granulated sugar and 1/2 cup (100g) of brown sugar.

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-46-516.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-43-855.jpg

Peanut Butter

I'm biased to this recipe since this contains my all-time favorite spread, Peanut Butter. And of course, for this recipe, I used my favorite local brand, Lily's. You can always use the nut butter of your choice (almond butter, cashew butter, walnut butter, and pecan butter). In the Philippines, peanut butter is the more popular choice because of its availability in almost all local stores.

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-42-068.jpg

Chocolate

If you're on a diet, you might think that adding chocolates on top of all those ingredients I've already mentioned is too much. Well, you can skip this part. However, I made these specifically for my boyfriend and I just want them to be nothing short of amazing so I added 2 and 1/2 cups (450g) of semi-sweet chocolate chips, plus more for topping if desired. You can actually use dark or milk chocolates, whatever you prefer.

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-58-55-912.jpg

You'd also be needing the following:

1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Here's the complete list of ingredients:

1.png

Baking time per batch would fall from 12 minutes to 15 minutes. I know it's absurd, but I actually don't time my cookies inside the oven. When I look at them and they seem baked, I'll take them out. But of course, to maintain the same quality in all your batches, timing them is a must!

The yield of one recipe will also be dependent on how big or small you'd want your cookies to be. I personally want them to be palm-sized so naturally, my yield will be fewer.

Here are the step-by-step baking instructions I got from Sally's Baking. When followed to the smallest tip and instruction, you'll never go wrong. Here goes:

2.png

No hand mixer at home? Don't fret! You can always use a whisk and spatula. We're not making a cake here so calm down! 😁

3.png

You can also experiment with chilling the dough and not chilling them. They'll yield different results in the texture of the cookies. Just find out which one you'd want. If you use margarine, no need to chill the dough.

4.png

No parchment paper or silicone baking mats? Grab a foil and they'll be just fine.

5.png

If you want to finish this recipe (or any cookie recipe) strong, make sure to transfer them on a wire rack.

Here are the final output of my Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies:

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-36-304.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-38-506.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-39-237.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-16_17-59-39-419.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-24_18-04-30-506.jpg


Thank you for joining me today! Let me know if you use the recipe or if you have questions! See you in my next post. 😁


Brown Chef Hat Food Bakery Logo.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

Looks delicious. You're really good at making cookies :)

Hello @trangbaby! anything for my love hehe thank you!

The cookie looks deli 🤤

They're my boyfriend's favorite for a reason hehe😋

Ka swerte gyud for sure 🤗😋untitled.gif

untitled.gif

Nya naa diay plot twist @itsmiessyonpeakd ba, wala pa diay toy uyab, hahahah joke lang! Naa rato diri, makit-an nya ni hahahhaa


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ngayu ko bi 😂😂

@explorewithsasha Mao ni madag-an sa winner sa atong pageant puhon ba. 1 yr supply heheh

Hahaha ayy super bet @patsitivity hahaha

Looks delicious. 😁

They are (according to him) hehe Nice to see you again @juanvegetarian! 😁

Hey, glad to know the your bf found it delicious. See you around! 😁

This looks soooo good!!! I like oatmeal cookies!!waaaaa. Good job on this, Pat!

I know right @herkeepsake,there's something with oatmeal that makes it so perfect for baked goods!

P.S. I don't eat oatmeal alone, hehe

I eat overnight oatmeaaaal hahaha but i dont like the cooked ones. Haha

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Wala po bang free samples? 😄

Abangan po sa Tindahan ni Ate Bea, tag 20 lang po. Hahahha

The cookies look yummy 🤩