Vegan chicken sticks in paprika sauce with spaetzle

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Even as a child I loved to eat paprika chicken and of course I don't want to do without this delicacy, even today when I eat a purely plant-based diet and that's why I veganized it a long time ago and I think it turned out well.

At this paprika chicken, everyone will rave. A great and very spicy recipe not only for the Sunday table. The Hungarian touch should not be missing with a paprika chicken.

The absolute classic of Viennese cuisine - often a favorite meal for connoisseurs, provided it is done correctly, and like so many Austrian dishes, this one has its origins in Hungary.

_DSC4307.jpg

Ingredients Chicken for 3-4 servings
  • 250 g vegan chicken sticks (or other meat substitute)

  • 2 large onions

  • 4 tbsp oil

  • 2 tbsp tomato paste

  • 3 tbsp paprika powder

  • 1 tbsp hot paprika paste

  • 750 ml vegetable stock

  • 2 tsp ground Caraway seed

  • 2 tsp marjoram

  • salt

  • pepper

  • 2 tbsp sour cream

  • 1 tbsp flour

  • 3 tbsp water

Ingredients spaetzle
  • 350 g all-purpose flour
  • approx. 400 ml oat milk
  • salt for the cooking water
  • Butter to warm up the spaetzle
Preparation of chicken

Remove the bamboo piece from the chicken sticks and tear the meat into rough pieces with two forks.

1.jpg

Peel the onion and cut into rough cubes.

Fry the onion in oil until translucent, do not let it brown. Add tomato paste and paprika paste and roast for about 1 minute (do not roast for too long, otherwise the paprika will become bitter)!
Pour in half the broth and simmer for a minute.

zwiebeln.gif

2.jpg

Add the chicken and stir well. Season with marjoram, Caraway seed, pepper and salt, add the remaining broth and simmer gently in the closed pot for 30 minutes. Stir occasionally to prevent burning.

3.jpg

Mix flour with water until smooth and stir into simmering chicken and pepper sauce until thickened slightly. Add the sour cream at the end and season with salt and pepper if necessary.

4.jpg

paprikanun.gif

Preparation spaetzle
  • Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add 3 tsp salt.
  • Using a hand mixer, beat the flour and oat milk into a smooth, pliable batter. Cover the dough and let it rest for about 20 minutes.
  • Fill the dough in portions into a spaetzle grater and bring them spaetzle to the boil until they float to the top.
  • Take the spaetzle out of the boiling water with a sieve and immediately place them in ice-cold water (so they don't stick together later).
  • After a few seconds, remove the spaetzle from the ice water, place in a bowl, cover and set aside until further processing.
  • Warm the spaetzle in melted, hot butter before serving.

5.jpg

tip

Instead of spaetzle, you can also serve pasta, rice or potatoes as a side dish.

sp_tzle.gif

I hope you enjoy this recipe and thank you for visiting!

_DSC4303.jpg

_DSC4304.jpg

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort:  

You are so clever @proanima! That looks just like the "real thing" I love paprika flavoured floods but battle to find paprika. I have a bottle of smoked paprika; I wonder how that would do? I didn't realize how much was Hungarian in origin. Fascinating

Thank you, I'm glad you like it, too bad you can't find a paprika.

Hi proanima,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

ich weiß, dass es wunderbar schmeckt, jeder sollte es probieren. Danke

Oh my goodness!!! I absolutely love this! It looks just like my grandmother used to make. I have to make it, its just I have to use soy curls, because I don't know where I could get those vegan chicken sticks. Maybe in some Chinese market, but I never seen them here. Nevertheless, the sauce is the main thing! Yum 🧡😋🧡

Thank you very much Lena, yes you can also do it with soy, you will like it too and yes, the sauce makes the taste 😍

My pleasure Heidi, I have to make it soon 🧡😍🧡