How I Start My Mornings | Oatmeal Breakfast Bowl


Your Body Is A Temple


IMG_20220528_130923_807.jpg


If there is a meal to put in a category called "no time to eat", for most of my life, breakfast would be the front runner.

For so many years my breakfast would consist of a coffee. The times that I would eat, I was likely in a hurry and resorted to an unhealthy choice.

As a young whippersnapper, stuffing your trap with toxic food, your metabolism keeps you from feeling any consequences of it.

Putting crap in your body never phased me as a youth. The next day I felt the same regardless.

Fast forward to 40 years old..

Absolutely everything you put into your body bears a consequence.

Having had some health challenges over the past 6-7 years, an enormous focus has been put on improving my health. The moment that I took my diet more seriously, is the moment regularly feeling great became the norm.

Here is a simple, but amazing way to start out your day!


IMG_20220528_130826_195.jpg


Here we have unsweetened coconut, quinoa, cacao nibs, and hemp hearts. This combination is packed with fibre, brain nutrients, iron, and flavour.

To start, I put some coconut and cacao nibs at the bottom of the bowl. I find when eating oatmeal, having all of the fixings on the top makes for a flavourful first half of eating, but leaves the last part of the bowl quite bland.

Separating some of the ingredients helps give the bowl a more balanced taste.


MG_20220528_130857_829.jpg


IMG_20220528_130842_708.jpg


After quickly boiling your whole grain oats, you pour the hot oatmeal over top of the first ingredients. This will melt the cacao nibs giving them an even more satisfying taste.

Next, I add a little bit of brown sugar to the top to add some sweetness to the top part of the dish.


IMG_20220528_130904_145.jpg


My go-to fruits are bananas, strawberries and blueberries. Packed with potassium, vitamins and anti-oxidants, this combo is a great way to start your day off feeling refreshed and full of energy.


20220528_095721.jpg


Granola is a nice added touch for flavour as well as texture.


granola.jpeg


To finish off the bowl, I add a little bit of coconut milk around the perimeter. This helps cool the oatmeal down faster, it also blends some of the sweet parts into the liquid distributing the flavours much more effectively with each bite.


IMG_20220528_130923_807.jpg


Each and every day I start with this combo. The moment that I started with it, my days became more balanced energy and mood-wise, setting the tone for how to go after the remainder of the day.

It is simple but effective.

#eatright
#breakfastbowls
#healthyeating
#oatmeal

Sort:  

These looks yummy and healthy .. I wanna grab one bowl of your oats 😁

🙏 I am eating a bowl as I look at the screen right now!

how many colors! 🎨👏
I like much! 🍌🍓🍒

🙏 Thank you!

looks appetizing 😉

Simple, yet tasty:)

I feel better already, just looking at your breakfast 😍😂

It looks very appetising, wow! Vibrant colours, varying flavours and textures.

Thanks! It sure does taste good.