Chai Spiced Rhubarb and Berry Compote πŸ“πŸ‘πŸ«πŸŒΏ

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 2 years ago

In winter, the rhubarb comes into it's own - big fat red and green stalks and healthy leaves as a contrast to the wilted patheticness it is in the summer. I had two huge plants I needed to transplant as it was in the way of a fence, so of course I had to get to making something. I did consider jam with ginger, but I'm not a sugar fan, unless it's marmalade. Like my husband's allergic to almond unless they're on a croissant, y'know?

So as I'm tidying it up and chopping it into a pan I start thinking about what to mix it with for a compote with honey. I'd usually add apple, but I don't have any (I don't buy them, waiting instead for apple season). I would usually add orange juice, too, but didn't have that either. Sigh.

IMG20220805125029.jpg

Then I remembered frozen berries. Enough sweetness to balance the tart rhubarb would work, right? I meted out about a third berries, or just under, to the pot of rhubarb.

Then I remember I had mandarins. Can you squeeze a mandarin? Of course you can.

IMG20220805125335.jpg

At this point I added around six cardomom seeds, a few shakes of cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, a splash of vanilla essence (who can afford real vanilla? In my dreams!). To be honest, it wasn't quite enough, so though the title sounds great, I couldn't really pick out those flavours to any degree. A bit more next time, perhaps? Or perhaps I could serve it with something chai-ish...

With a little splash of water to stop it burning as well, it went on for a gentle simmer until the rhubarb began to soften and break up. By this stage I'm getting an idea of the sweetness, and added a few spoonfuls of honey as it cooled til it was just right.

IMG20220805130536.jpg

I tell you what made it even better just right was coconut yoghurt. Cocobella does a particularly good one! This made for a kickass desert and in my opinion, far better than jam. I'll pop some in the freezer but it'd work well to can as well.

If you knew my crockery you'd known this is a tiny bowl. The internet lies. But I can't eat it all before the hubs comes home - this is just a tester.

IMG20220805140257.jpg

What's your favourite rhubarb recipe?



With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort: Β 
Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Rhubarb always reminds me of my grandmother. She used to make compote out of it as well, super tasty! As kids we added A LOT of sugar to it, so I guess that's why we liked it back then haha. Those herbs in combination with the rhubarb sounds really good, too bad you couldn't really taste them. Have you tried vanilla extract before? The taste is stronger and closer to real vanilla. I use it in most of my recipes, because it's more convenient (and also cheaper) than real vanillaπŸ™ˆ

I do use vanilla extract but it's not the same.

Hahaha yes I bet you kids loved the sugary rhubarb! The honey and berries made it just right ... Sugar makes me feel ill!

Ahh.... that's delicious πŸ˜‹

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 37000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 38000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Did it survive until he got home? :))

Here strawberries come in shortly after rhubarb, so strawberry rhubarb everything is found at that time. I use old frozen ones until the strawberries appear, and usually just make a sauce. It usually needs a touch of sweetness, but I probably make it more tart than most people like, as I'm trying to keep the sweet in my diet low.

I like things tart anyway so that doesn't bother me. It sounds gorgeous with starwberries!!! I removed a couple of rhubarb the other day and now I regret it as this compote is the best. Yes, it survived, but I've had the lion's share ahaha. He isn't a fan of raspberry as he doesn't like the seeds... Yeah I know, wierdo. More for moi!

My husband didn't like raspberries or other berries with big seeds either. Dentures, you see... :))

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

My mother always made rhubarb compote with dried blood plums from our garden. Clearly one has MILLIONS of blood plums if one has a tree, so all summer long she patiently watched US halve and de-stone them, and then up they'd go onto the carport roof on a big while tray that was actually the side of an old stove in its first life. Netting? no problem - she used an old recycled ballet practice skirt. LOL.

And thus we'd have blood plums all winter long when no one else had yummy fruit. And she make a compote with cinnamon sticks and rhubarb. If there were any warmish days or special guests she'd do the same, only add a cup of port wine and some gelatine and make a stunningly impressive molded jelly dessert.

Thanks for dredging up some lovely old memories.

Aw bless. That's a nice one. They sure knew how to improvise in those days....

My grandmother would do all manner of fruits, in old margarine containers in the freezer.

Ah, how nice. My mom has rhubarb in her garden too πŸ™‚ She also makes some kind of compote with them. They are also nice to have in a pie (a sweet one though). Omg, I'm starting to feel that I would probably enjoy cooking more if I had a garden. It would give me more of a connection. I was baking so much as a child. That was really my thing (among a lot of other things, haha).