Wild Garlic Cheesey Scones

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago

If there's one basic baking thing I can do, it's scones. My mother used to let me help her bake them, and I distinctly recall her tips. Shed bake them with dates or sultanas usually. I have a penchant for scones perhaps because of this memory.

Feeling somewhat better after ten days wiped by COVID, I had three walks today - each only about half an hour, but feeling good, even in the afternoon. Perhaps it's the turmeric and boswellia tablets, or the Dahl soups, or just that things have run their course.

IMG20240604152713.jpg

On the third walk in the rain, I diverted through the woods, nettling my knees and getting just a little lost. What a tangle the woods can be at this time of year! And so achingly beautiful - a time when I start to mourn for the England I haven't even left yet.

One bucket list thing to do whilst I was here was make ramsom or wild garlic scones - of course, with lots of cheese. The wild garlic is almost at an end but I found a good microclimate where the leaves were still fresh and pungent.

IMG20240604154645.jpg

The recipe is easy. I doubled it.

  • 225 g SR flour
  • 100 g cheese (reserve 25 g for the top)
  • 150 ml milk (plus extra for brushing on the top before baking)
  • 30 g chopped wild garlic
  • 1 tsp baking powder.
  • 50 g cold butter

Mix the butter into the flour so it resembles breadcrumbs. Don't over work it. With scones I think this is true at every step.

Then add the cheese, milk and wild garlic. You could also add other yummy things like sun dried tomatoes or olives.

IMG20240604162905.jpg

Brush with milk - I didn't have a pastry brush so used my fingers - and sprinkle some of the reserved cheese on top. Bake for 12-15 minutes at 220 c.

IMG20240604162913.jpg

I think these would be quite nice vegan too if that's what you like. I would add half coconut or non dairy yoghurt and half milk, some garlic or onion powder, some mustard powder and nutritional yeast, and an extra scoop of vegan butter.

They are so delicious hot straight out of the oven with some soup.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

IMG20240604152758.jpg

IMG20240604152713.jpg

IMG20240604151553.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 630000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 640000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2024 Winners List

O maaan..they looks absolutely delicious..!

simple and easy recipe.. will gonna try it... Thanks for sharing..

eso se vé buenísimo 🤤

Cheese and garlic...what could be better? Am definitely making these 😍 thanks for the recipe. Sounds easy as hell, too.

Is the wild garlic out near you? It is easy.. I don't do hard!

It was for a while. Not sure if it's still there though. Going out to look now :D

I am glad you’re feeling better. I am going to try my hand at your recipe as I have yet to master scones. 😀

Don't expect them to to rise heaps due to the cheese. Scones are easy which is what I like about them..

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.