You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rubidos Kitchen Assault Course Episode 2 - Coq Au Vin

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I don't know about up north but Locally its called Fond de Volaille. It comes in 3 forms Powder (Avoid it like the plague) , A gelatinous cube you dissolve in boiling water , and in a large Carton or Glass bottle in liquid form. You can also get Mixed Meat Stocks and beef. I.E. Fond de Veau and Fond Noir. Etc.

You can get it down here at the supermarkets, but its easier to get at the small local places and town markets.

Sort:  

Okay cool. Good to know. I'm aware of the cubes and powder. I think of that as boullion rather than stock though which may have a slightly different meaning in English? Boullion to me is like chicken flavor I guess, but I'm mostly looking for the liquid that's like chicken broth soup in a can, jar or carton.