Crock Pot Sunday : Boston Butt Roast

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

image.png

For this past weekend's cold Sunday crock pot feast, I decided to go with simple slow cook pork roast. This one is always an easy one to make for Packer Sundays, and the preparation for this meal is very limited. I like limited, you know??

To begin with, I pulled our local meat CSA sourced butt roast from the freezer.

image.png

To begin the Sunday crock pot fun, I cut up a white onion and placed it at the base of the crock pot:

image.png

I then opened up the roast and placed it on the white onion chunks:

image.png

Once nestled in the crockpot, I poured 8 ounces of chicken broth on the pork and onions:

image.png

Then smothered both sides with salt, pepper, and a seasoning.

PXL_20220109_162525311.jpg


PXL_20220109_162558928.jpg


PXL_20220109_162715738.jpg

And then covered the meal on low for eight hours:

PXL_20220109_162734419.jpg

Eight hours later, with some brown beans and spicy coleslaw, dinner was served!

PXL_20220109_233246729.jpg

What a perfect meal for a frigid Sunday in January; although the Packers lost, I sense a possible Super Bowl run soon. I hope anyway...in the meantime, this one is an easy one to make. We typically get a few pork roasts through our CSA every other month, and the crockpot is a perfect way to prepare the cut. I would guess if you are from the upper Midwest too, you know what I'm talking about. It's a thing up here, and it conjures up many memories to all those who walk into a crockpot Sunday's smell. At least that is the case for me!

Thanks for checking out another crockpot Sunday Funday; more to come before Spring shows up!

Sort:  

Shut...up!

That is all.

I'd leave a (clap) emoji for that if I could, lol

Lol...

The clap emoji is implied. 😁

A nice lump of meat. Im surprised the vegan brigade didn't downvote you yet.

Aye...let's hope not...I have 10 pounds of CSA meat in the freezer, lol...that's like four more Hive posts!

You are making me hungry.

no joke...here is where we get our meats from

https://www.mastodonvalleyfarm.com/

I did an interview on the Higher Side Chats long long ago...and kept up with the podcast. The owner of the farm was interviewed later, and I knew it would be a good match for us, lol