Christmas Cookies!

December 20th was the day I finally found the energy and inspiration to bake some Christmas cookies. It's something I truly enjoy doing, and would have been sad if I had never gotten around to it this year. There are several varieties of cookies that I consider to be traditional Christmas fare for our family, including the two kinds I baked this year: Spritz and Peppernuts.


20211220_113932 trimmed_1.jpg

As usual, I didn't think to start taking pictures until I was well into the process! This is a pan full of the spritz. My cookie press happens to be a Pampered Chef tool, and I really like the way the cookies turn out. There is only one shape that never seems to come out of the press correctly (a wreath), so I don't use that one.


20211220_122420_1.jpg

I experimented with adding the sprinkles before baking and after baking. Both ways work, but there are pros and cons. If I put them on prior to baking, they melt into the cookie better. But the sprinkles that roll off the cookie can cause the edges of the cookie to burn a little while baking. And the sprinkles stick to the cookie sheet. If I add the sprinkles after baking, they don't stick to the cookie quite as well.


20211220_202601_1.jpg

Next, I baked a batch of "Dark Peppernuts." It's a recipe my aunt gave me years ago. I only took this one picture, but yesterday I baked "Light Peppernuts" and took more pictures, which I will put into a separate post.


20211220_202617 trimmed_1.jpg

My third project for the day was half a batch of dairy-free spritz cookies for the family member with the dairy allergy. I used Earth Balance baking sticks instead of butter, and was impressed with how nicely the dough behaved with the cookie press. The flavor was quite acceptable as well.


20211220_213319_1.jpg

I used red and green sprinkles on the dairy-laden spritz, and blue sprinkles on the dairy-free spritz, just to make it easier to identify which was which.

Recipes for Spritz and Peppernuts are readily available in cookbooks and on the internet, so I won't take the time to type mine here. However, I will quote the extra bit of information my aunt added to the bottom of her recipe for Dark Peppernuts: "My mother, your grandmother, made a small cream can full of these. It didn't close so tightly that I couldn't get in, so I saw to it that they never got old."

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you very much!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Sprinkles create nice Vibes about holiday on your cookies 🎉

My fav one is blue sprinkles type

Yes, we sometimes get carried away with the reds and greens at Christmas, so blue seemed like a good change of pace. Glad you liked it.

Ooh, I love spritz cookies, buttery, melty in your mouth yum cookies! Yours turned out so glorious! And I continue to be impressed with those Earth Balance sticks, they really do perform and taste well in baked goods. I also love how you color coded them with the sprinkles, that was genius! 😆😊

You know, I have never had Peppernuts. Apparently they are awesome if your family members stored them in a not air tight place knowing they’d be devoured before getting stale, lol!

That settles it, we need to have tea and peppernuts one of these days!!

Yes! I have a stash of things for you! We should definitely plan it before winter elapses lol!