Like Caesar's salad

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 29 days ago

Hello, chefs! πŸ˜‹

After some time (three months) precisely, I have another dish to share.
I didn't create the recipe, but I often improvised. This is my version of a Caesar salad, but I added different ingredients based on what I had available.
Well, to go into further detail, not just at home, but at the seaside in April, when my wife and I spent a few days on the coast.
Yes, April was sunnier than this rainy May.

Like Caesar's salad.
We all know the Caesar salad, don't we? It usually contains fresh lettuce, chicken, egg, lemon juice, olive oil, mustard, and croutons.

It's not entirely clear where and when it was created. Some say it was first prepared in 1924 by chef Alex Cardini at the Caesar's Palace Hotel in Tijuana, Mexico; others say it was created in 1930 in San Francisco at a restaurant run by chef Livio Santini.

Either way, this is one of the most popular and tasty salads. It is a simple dish suitable for all meals, whether breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snacks.

There are many versions of this salad today, and here is my variation.
We were at the seaside, and I prepared it in the summer kitchen with the following ingredients:

  • about half a kilo of home-grown, very bitter radicchio
  • three boiled potatoes cut into small pieces
  • one tomato
  • two boiled eggs
  • a couple of garlic cloves
  • chicken breast, sliced into strips
  • two tablespoons of cooked beans
  • seasoning: thyme, smoked paprika, lemongrass
  • salt and black pepper
  • olive oil
  • homemade apple cider vinegar

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

Meat comes first. I marinated the chicken breasts and sprinkled them with the spices I had at my disposal: thyme, smoked red paprika, and lemongrass powder. I added salt and pepper and left them to rest for a few minutes.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

Instead of using lettuce, I substituted radicchio from my home garden. We brought it because we had an abundance of it, and the lettuce heads were still small.
Since radicchio is quite bitter, I finely chopped it.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

I continued with the boiled potatoes and tomatoes, cutting them into small pieces and adding them to the radicchio in the bowl.

Then, I added the hard-boiled eggs and the three garlic cloves, which I also finely chopped and added.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

Now it's time to roast the chicken breasts.
Of course, if I didn't have meat, I would skip this step, but it would be good without it.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

After a few minutes, I stopped the roasting to let the meat rest and cool down.

Here's a summer kitchen in front of the caravan. It's nothing special; I might change something this year.
While the meat was cooling down, I had a glass of beer :)

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

I added the meat to the rest of the ingredients in a bowl, and in a frying pan, I cut the bread into cubes to make croutons in oil with the spices left over from the meat.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

While making the croutons, I added a couple of tablespoons of cooked beans to the salad bowl. This helps to soften the bitterness of the radicchio.

The croutons go into the salad bowl, too.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

And, finally, on the plate.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

I won't say it looks like it came from a four-Michelin-star restaurant, but it was delicious. I know because my wife had no complaints. She ate it all :)

Thank you for your attention.

Bon appetite

I would be glad if you tried to make it at home and told me if it was OK or not.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

Latest (this year) recipes: Roasted And Stuffed Pumpkin, Stewed Turnip With Mushrooms.

You can also find some interesting recipes in my older cooking ventures :)

Foodies 2020 | Foodies 2021 | Foodies 2022 | Foodies 2023

@foodiesunite

And here's something else:
There has been a lot of development in Hive core, but documentation is outdated, and updates are needed. So I invite you to support and vote for Hive devportal updates proposal by @good-karma.

Support and vote for those exceptional witnesses:
@good-karma, @liotes, @fbslo and @detlev.witness.

πŸ˜‹ πŸ“· πŸ˜‹

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif

NFT Showroom
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
New Tunes
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

Sort: Β 

hello @seckorama
I loved this salad and how you prepare it, it is evident that your preparation is exquisite, since there is no complaint from your wife

You make a good point. No, there was no comment, just silence until the plate was empty. πŸ˜‹

Wow! You are enjoying the good life there! I am very jealous!! Guten Apetit!

Thanks. Yes, I tend to enjoy it as much as possible. 😎

How are you dear friend @seckorama good morning
I loved this version of your Caesar salad, how great that you replaced lettuce with chicory.
Thank you very much for sharing this recipe, the dish looks delicious
have a great day

Thanks for stopping by, my dear friend @jlufer. Yes, the lettuce wasn't in heads yet, but there was plenty of radicchio, so I improvised.

This salad looks so good and I’m surprised to see the way you have prepared it because this is not the usual salad I’ve always seen
It looks good though

Thank you. I usually always improvise something depending on the situation in the fridge.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you, @edwing357 and @foodiesunite, for your support. πŸ‘

Β 29 days agoΒ Β 

πŸ€—πŸ€—βœ¨