Stir Fried Beef Bun Bowl

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Stir Fried Beef Bun Bowl


Here in Australia, we are in the middle of what is known locally
as the "silly season".

It's half way through Summer, half way through January and all of the businesses that closed for the Christmas / New Year's break are slowly opening back up again.

The Pho Linh Restaurant



img_0.771926566283306.jpgThe Pho Linh

One of those businesses that has just re-opened, is the Pho Linh Vietnamese Restaurant.

It's a restaurant that will always be a source of pride for me as I was partially instrumental for it's resurgence as a profitable business.

In the beginning, the restaurant once belonged to the current owner's mother. Being of Vietnamese origin, their understanding of Australian culture was lacking somewhat.

They were trying to be a Fish and Chip shop and Pizza shop in one with no clear focus or direction.

I could see they were going to go bankrupt if I didn't say anything. I asked what their business intentions where.
They said they weren't sure.

As an aside, in some Asian cultures there is the concept of "saving face", or public reputation. I was aware of this and adjusted my vocal tone accordingly.

Apparently it wasn't enough because her son said that if I had any complaints, that they should be addressed to him.

I said I had no complaints, but that I could see that they could benefit from a single focus in what they were doing.

So, I asked a simple question:
"What do you do best?".

The reply was "Vietnamese food".

I said "Why not turn this into a Vietnamese restaurant exclusively? You can invite the Vietnamese community to try it and I am sure the Australians would love it too!".

He loved the idea and bought the shop from his mother and set about overhauling the business.

He replaced the fridges so that they had tranparent doors, and counter tops. This allows customers to not only see that the food is fresh, but it's being prepared from the moment you order it.

It's amazing to watch.

There were a few free meals and the occasional bottle of softdrink in the first few weeks as appreciation for my efforts. You gotta love social capital.

Entree: Chicken and Corn Soup



img_0.409562125729239.jpgChicken and Corn Soup

This is a perpetual favourite of mine.

Stir fried Beef Bun Bowl



img_0.25103139207688085.jpgStir fried beef bun bowl

For the main course, I went with the above pictured meal.
The beef is cut into strips and stir fried and then combined with vermicelli noodles and the shredded versions of carrot, cucumber and lettuce.

While I need to reduce my carb intake, and there are a lot of noodles here, this is a relatively healthy meal considering what I have been eating lately.

Highly recommended for active people.

Combination Banh Mi



img_0.08285165350547745.jpgCombination Banh Mi

In Vietnamese, Banh Mi means bread roll. The Pho Linh offers several choices of Banh Mi: Chicken, Pork, Beef or a Combination of the three choices.

This is a rather large bread roll and it might pay to ask them to cut it in half, but this is also one of my favourite meals.

Well, this was rather long winded and I have a lot of offline stuff to do before my shift for Splinterlands, so I'll leave it here.

Coming up, there will be a few Splinterlands related videos and also my plans for the year 2022.

Until then, have fun.

Shaidon.


img_0.7283408492603326.jpg
Shaidon's Seal Of Approval

Sort:  

Your advice changed the fortune of their restaurant.
And we all must do what we are best at doing.

It's good advice. I think that we all think that we can do everything, but we need to focus on the one good thing and do the best at that.

Sometimes it's hard to figure out what's the best thing that we are good at. Once done then all we need is dedication.

Yum, yum and YUM... There was a Vietnamese restaurant in Bega when I was living down that way. One day my girlfriend and I were shopping and someone walked past us with what we thought was hot chips and vinegar. Being hungry we both commented but the lady told us it was a soup from the Vietnamese restaurant, needless to say, we went there for lunch and ordered soup. I can't recall the name of the soup now but it was so much nicer than hot chips from the Aussie takeaway.

The food is amazing. I just wish there was more variety with it.
The beef soup is called Pho Tai.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @shaidon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!