Delectable dish Sikad Sikad ( seafoods ) : My simple way of cooking

Cooking is all about people. Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat. -Guy Fieri

png_20230708_071837_0000.png

My warmest greetings to the wonderful people of Hive. How are you? Hope everybody is safe and sound. A beautiful day indeed to start a new day!

Anyways, I would like to share with you one of the simple ways of cooking seafood. Simple but delectable dish.

In my previous blog, I shared that I'm living near the seashore and the people living here are mostly fishermen and when it's low tide, they were fun of picking up seashells.

I remembered when I was young I used to pick seashells also and it feels like a great accomplishment for me when I found one😊.

My family loves to eat seafood especially when it is fresh and newly caught from the sea. The warm soup makes the meal more interesting!

What is it?

Sikad sikad is a known term here in our place. This is a Bisaya term meaning kicking in English. Others call these Jumping shells

IMG_20230624_115341_601.jpg

I once observed this shell when I was young. When I caught some of this I used to put it in clear water and observe what they will going to do.

I observe that they crawl but before that, they use their foot like they were kicking and then they jump out of the sand. Maybe this is the reason that's why they call this Jumping shells.

How to have Delicious Seafoods Dish?

To prepare this, first, we need to prepare the ingredients to be used. Simple ingredients that were found in our humble kitchen. These were the following

Sikad sikad
3 medium size spring onions
1 medium size of tomato
2 pcs. sword pepper
1 to 2 pcs of bell pepper
1 roll of lemon grass
Salt to taste

IMG_20230624_115326_018.jpg

IMG_20230624_115821_453.jpg

The Procedure

Step 1. Prepare our casserole to be used in cooking and put 3 to 4 cups of water.

Step 2. When it is already set, set also our fire to medium heat.

Step 3. Add our spices to the water that was placed in a casserole and let it boil.

IMG_20230624_120147_349.jpg

Step 4. When it boils, add our sikad sikad to the boiling water and let it boil again.

IMG_20230624_120557_438.jpg

IMG_20230624_120808_071.jpg

Step 5. When the soup started to form bubbles from the sikad sikad remove the bubbles by using the ladle.

IMG_20230624_121725_009.jpg

Step 6. Let the soup be a bubbles-free soup and when it is done let this be cooked for 20 to 30 minutes.

This is now our tasty and savory dish Sikad sikad ready to serve😊. Let's take a break and have a sip with this yummy soup fresh seafood.

IMG_20230624_122257_784.jpg

We enjoyed eating this dish since we eat together, the four of us, and then we were using forks and needles to get the meat of the sikad sikad each one of us was busy giving our attention to pull out its meat. It looks like a contest. The first one to accomplish the task is the winner!

That's all for today's blog my friends. Thank you for spending time reading this until here. Have a great day and God bless

Sort:  

Wow😮,sarap niyan sikad2

Sarap po talaga. Thank you for dropping by.have a great weekend my friend!

My favorite 😍😍😍 seafood. Malingaw ko ani magkaon kay mura tag mananahi ug mura pug panday..kay magtinil gyud tag dagom or ganso para idughit, kundi martilyo para dukdokon largo..

Korek @mrexperienciado kalas kaayo sa bahaw. Well anyway, thank you for reading my blog and keep safe always. See u around God bless

Mas fulfilling ang pagkuha sa unod kaysa pagkaon maam. Simple, easy to prepare and delicious. The soup is perfect for a rainy day.😊

Congratulations @simplechalyns! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!
Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status

Wow! I like the soup in this dish @simplechalyns. So yummy.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @simplechalyns.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow! I like the soup @simplychalyns🤤

My husband likes sikad especially the soup. Nakapanginhas gyud mam Cha..hahaha