~ Big Ol’ Breakfast Burritos ~

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

It’s tough to beat a good breakfast burrito in the morning. Especially from some of the local Mexican restaurants here in town. Chorizo, potato, egg, and cheese with a little drizzle of their homemade salsa on every bite… TASTY! Now the best breakfast burrito I have ever had was from Roberto’s in Fresno, CA. You can order it in regular size or step up your burrito eating game and go with the Berto size!! That’s 2 giant tortillas half-lapped and loaded with the goods. Picture this, Berto size, chili verde breakfast burrito OMG!!! Spicy tender chili verde soaked pork, fluffy eggs, soft potatoes, and triple blend cheese…for only $8. I wouldn’t have to eat until dinner time after one of those monsters. That thing was huge and absolutely delicious!! Ok enough about my breakfast burrito experiences and let’s get into making some Big Ol’ Breakfast Burritos ~ Splatts Style

347A12D6-BD4C-4D90-8D00-65DEA7C5E5F3.jpeg

My plan is to make a giant batch of breakfast burrito mix so that I have some to warm up in the morning before work. Wake up toss one in the oven while I am getting ready for work. Then get my grub on during our morning meeting. That’s the plan anyway… Locally breakfast burritos used to be around $7-8 now they are $11… I don’t get one everyday but I sure could eat one everyday I can tell you that.

I went to the store in search of the biggest tortillas I could find. If you have ever attempted to wrap a burrito with small tortillas you know it can be a bit tricky. Tearing holes in the tortillas constantly, typically due to over filling them. I don’t want some wimpy breakfast burrito where I feel like I need to eat 2 of them. I’m talking one and done. I feel these should be big enough… you think?

F352C0B1-6B59-4C78-9A19-F7B2117DA4C0.jpeg

I’m gonna make sausage, bacon, potato, egg and cheese breakfast burritos. I have found the best way is to make all the ingredients separately then combine them together at the end. Since the potatoes take the longest I started cooking them first. Cut them into small cubes 1/2in or smaller. To me there is not a whole lot worse than taking a bite of a breakfast burrito and all you get is a big hunk of potato.

9B7C0F37-9723-4C65-A609-FC3E9B356DB3.jpeg

Since I don’t want fried potatoes, I add a small amount of water to the pan and place a lid over them. This helps them cook faster and soften up quickly without browning the sides.

59558F35-B222-4EC6-970F-5EC968B50B3B.jpeg

While those potatoes are cooking, I browned up a pound of pork sausage,

4EF0F764-84F0-4F10-929A-7D50946A3736.jpeg
And cut up a pound of bacon and cooked it thoroughly. I’m not a big fan of chewy bacon in my burritos either.
320041E3-6201-40E4-95B1-A3338A4D4349.jpeg
Drain the grease from both the sausage and bacon. Then combine them in a big pot
1718C3C2-A9A7-4C43-B8AC-5BCCCF4F4769.jpeg

Next it’s time for the eggs. It’s tough to know how many eggs to add. I don’t want the burritos to be egg with a little meat and potato. I want a good even mixture of all the ingredients. What the hell, let’s do 14 eggs and add about 1/4 cup of milk (I don’t measure the milk, it’s just a guess)

69D50F1B-0ED8-472D-A63A-806C097526BF.jpeg
The Nurtibullet makes quick work of whipping up these eggs. It takes about 5 seconds and they are done
4A7234E6-7FED-498F-9CF4-415FD33B0BF9.jpeg

I cook my eggs on medium/high heat. They cook fast and you have to be constantly stirring them. I ask find it makes them more fluffy. I like to chop the eggs into smaller pieces so it mixes into the other ingredients well.

With the potatoes cooked and mixed in with the sausage and bacon… add the eggs and mix it up until the ingredients look to be spread evenly throughout pot

BAEA2837-8D23-4EC2-8C77-C5B6B36A7DB8.jpeg

I like to warm my tortillas up for about 10 seconds in the microwave. Doing this helps them to be more flexible and not break. Then take a couple scoops of the burrito mix and pile it on the tortilla. Add some cheese on top, then wrap it up. I should have shown you people how I wrap mine but you will figure it out.

CC224D9C-12B2-4B45-9E40-85F9703ACD33.jpeg

To me this is what takes the breakfast burrito game to the next level. On a griddle or a pan, place the wrapped burrito on it and brown all sides and the ends. I start with the flap because it kind of glues the burrito shut.

074274DF-3F5C-4691-B932-0A0DC2EAFE15.jpeg

After the flap is nice and golden brown, seal up the ends of the burrito by standing them up on end. Once both ends are done, continue browning all sides of the burrito.

03A3945E-A5A3-47F0-9AF6-84FD95B106CB.jpeg

Don’t those look frikkin good!!!
61C06303-AF9E-4329-8FD6-07B248544E19.jpeg

These are about as big around as a pop/soda can and about as long as my head… minus the hair

F8420781-658E-4186-919F-34D529D79D7A.jpeg

Time to feast!!

I like to add a little sour cream and a blob of this mango habanero sauce. It’s not very spicy but it’s got a real nice sweetness to it.

F732629D-4C86-400E-AEB9-D5BEFCEC9757.jpeg
A51E9D63-E964-4A3C-BA98-B273EA10252A.jpeg

You are probably wondering if I ate the whole thing… of course I did silly. As for the rest of the Splatts fam… wife and daughter ate half and my boy did 3/4. Don’t worry the leftovers can be wrapped up and eaten later. Speaking of wrapping up and eating later… Lay down a piece of tin foil, and a piece of baking paper. Wrap the burrito with the paper then the foil.

AC9D8938-8F49-422F-A659-14CE28745164.jpeg

Look who has breakfast for the up and coming work week…

This Guy!!

BA117BF5-F022-4CC4-BB4B-D6C7C28BA42F.jpeg

So that made 7 Big Ol’ burritos, which are bigger than the ones I get at the restaurant. Sausage-$5 ~ Bacon-$6 ~ Eggs-$6 ~ Potatoes-$5 ~ Cheese-$5 ~ Tortillas-$10 Around $38 for 7 Big Ol’ Breakfast Burritos, $5.50 a piece and they are bigger than the restaurant ones… not bad… not bad at all. Plus I have breakfast for the work week, that’s a Win-Win in my book… and yes, I could really use a hair cut.

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Join us in the Mancave!

93CFC9FF-4DAD-48B2-AEBC-C368B868548F.png

B3BEB29A3854409FBA0F3C7B534887A0.png

Sort:  

Is there a tesla coil in the kitchen or does the oven run on static?

DAHAHAHAHA!!! Just bringing back my high school senior year hair style. Just wake up and boom!! Done!

Posted via D.Buzz

You never appreciate artistically sculpted hair, how sad is that... 😞

Bed-tastically sculpted to perfection 😉

That's a lot of bed fold sculpting. 😁

Reminds me of chow time. I had way too much written right here and deleted the whole thing.

LOL, you deleted your book comment!

Yeah I went way too transparent about celly's and folded corners on the cots and stuff.

One little E instead of A would've fan-testically altered your sentence.

I want one, well more than one, for brunch right now, omg, they look delicious.

Does your hair always look like a sculpture like this? (not meant in sarc, meant as in admiring the sculpture) Love this photo. Plus all the rest of the photos, but this one is super expressive. Now send me your tacos please.

Expressive hair comes at a price. Don’t shower until your wife complains, then hold out until you are stinkier than the dog… rinse and repeat. 😜😜

LOL, how long does it take before she complains? If you're rinsing, it must be in sweat only with egg white hair gel.

It depends on how little I do at home or work…
DAHAHAHAA

LOL! Well, you could say, "Hold the line (lineman?)".

Dammit, now I'm hungry again.




Posted via D.Buzz

🤣🤣🤣

I haven't eaten today and he just destroyed me with this post.

If I'd had the stuff to make one I would have after that. Made me have to switch from coffee to solid food.

I didn't have the stuff to make it either. Coffee to solid food, lol, as I sip coffee with no solid food (clicks coffee mugs).

dang I have quit buying breakfast burritos here to since the price increase. We are at 9.75 per burrito up from 6.99 from a few years ago.

I will have to try and make my own again.

!PIZZA

It took me about an hour to make all of those. Crap I forgot to add in the price of the tortillas… better fix that. Lol

Posted via D.Buzz

Looks like a good feast!

!discovery 41




Posted via D.Buzz

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

Hello @enforcer48
This is my own !BEER
Have fun with it!:)

😊😎😋 YUM! looks better that the McD's I had this morning. (altho that was pretty good too)

McD’s…


LOL

Posted via D.Buzz

I've only eaten once a burrito and it really didn't impress my culinary tastes. But I love the results of your recipe and I have no doubt these are even tastier than what I tried a while ago :)

Burritos are like hamburgers… there are a million different ways to make them. I’ve a a few burritos that I say “no way!” to

Posted via D.Buzz

Your breakfast as shown in your photography and as per your writing is totally unfamiliar to me as I have never had it as a breakfast but after perusing your writing I feel it needs to be tested at least once.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.




Posted via D.Buzz

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@dkid14(2/20) tipped @splatts (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program




Posted via D.Buzz

Oh gosh after reading this I need to get out and get a burrito now, haha. I liked that of browning the burritos a bit on the griddle, I'll do that next time I make some. And I've never tried them with mango salsa, I haven't seen that kind of salsa around here, but I'm sure I could make one at home.

Grilling the outside is the way to go. Adds a little crunch. When you reheat the leftovers wrapped in the oven it softens it up a little bit which is still tasty!!

Posted via D.Buzz