Left-Overs Turned into a Tasty Tri-Tip Burrito

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Tri-Tip cooked on my Green Mountain Pellet grill is a Splatts family favorite. Just throw some salt, pepper, and garlic powder on it and it’s ready for the grill. Sliced thin, with a pink smoke ring around the edge and a slightly pink middle… perfection!!

57CED3D0-F16E-4B64-AA53-E642E8109BC9.jpeg

I can’t stand to see left-overs put into the fridge and slowly migrate their way to the back. Then they never get eaten. What a waste!! I never let my Tri-Tip go to waste though. Tri-Tip sandwiches for lunch, a breakfast scrambler, or just warm it up and toss those slices of tender meat down the hatch.

The other day, Mama Splatts and I were hanging out while the kids were at school. Lunch time rolled around and she said,

”I want a burrito! Why do I always want a burrito?”
Hey, ain’t nothing wrong with a big ol’ burrito!

Instead of going to our favorite Mexican Restaurant, I told her I was gonna make one with the leftover Tri-Tip. I sure hope this turns out they way I want it to…

First I took the thin sliced Tri-Tip and cut it into strips.
84285DF5-2478-401A-8E58-DB4F34CDFFF2.jpeg
Then tossed those strips of tender meat into a pan
5B05FBF4-0E24-4D47-AFDC-5BD7661133EB.jpeg

Added a couple cups of water and some taco seasoning, stir, then bring it up to a boil. Then let it simmer with the lid on for about 20 minutes. Well long enough for me to run to the store and pick up some big tortillas to make these tasty burritos.

72087CB5-C8ED-413D-9928-AE723C58C5E3.jpeg

Slap a layer of refried beans on the tortilla. Followed by a layer of cheese and then the Tri-Tip. I like to put the cheese between the beans and meat. It helps the cheese melt fast.

45D12455-2222-4FCB-A578-176C6954F613.jpeg

Now pile on all the fixers’… lettuce, onion, avocado, tomatoe, sour cream and some habanero hot sauce. This one is Mama Splatts’ burrito so it doesn’t have the hot sauce. She doesn’t really care to much for that spicy punch in the mouth from the habanero sauce.

D22E3D8F-610B-41A2-806E-AEA0DCD0579F.jpeg

Every single time I make a burrito, I always overfill it. I just start piling stuff on then realize… CRAP!! This isn’t going to wrap up very well! Yet, with a little finesse I was able to wrap up this burrito and toss it into a hot pan. I love to grill up the outside of the burrito. Adds a little crispness to the outside. Plus when you grill the seam it helps hold it together. Especially when the contents are ready to explode out of of there.

3E0F9607-47A5-4CD4-AB27-6776D5C3CFDA.jpegThat is a thing of beauty!!

As I was making my gut-buster Tri-Tip burrito all I could here Mama Splatts saying was…

*“WOW!! This is amazing!”
“Dang Babe, this burrito is so frikken good!”
“I don’t know if I can finish it, but I can’t stop eating it”

Maybe that is why she loves me, I can take leftovers and create something that really packs a punch to her taste buds.

My burrito is done so I’m going to go stuff my face
644C7F64-8647-4A3A-8E8B-253E7B437CA5.jpeg
Don’t let those leftovers go to waste… get creative and get your grub on
Laterz

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Join us in the Mancave!

93CFC9FF-4DAD-48B2-AEBC-C368B868548F.png

B3BEB29A3854409FBA0F3C7B534887A0.png

Sort:  

Looks absolutely delicious.
I love burritos and fajitas.

untitled.gif

Yum! I just ate lunch but I would definitely eat that now.. :)😋

Minced meat like that is one of my favorite foods because it tastes good and is also very delicious Thank you for sharing here

![untitled.gif]meat… it’s what’s for every meal. 😜😜

()

I don't like to see leftovers go to waste, but I am not this creative as you, to make a burrito out of it. Well, you made everything perfect, no leftovers and your lady was happy too!! 👌

Leftover pork rib meat makes for great tacos and nachos too. The taco flavor with the Smokey bbq flavor is awesome!!

My wife gets really creative with leftovers while I am at work. She makes some amazing breakfast meals for herself while the kids are at school.

So your wife is also creative. That is cool, you are both doing well 👍

untitled.gif

😂😂 what a funny guy and way to say thank you 😂

Ow, his T-shirt is cool.
When I was a child it was one of the games I liked to play hahah.
Not a gamer nowadays, but this one is cute, Pac-Man game :))

That burrito looks scrumptious! Overstuffed is great but scrawny is against the law LOL

That is a great looking burrito. I could eat a couple right now. Thanks for showing how you did it.

Leftover pork ribs are great for tacos and burritos too. 😉

Delicious

untitled.gif

Looks delicious 😋😋😋

Looks delicious <3