Journey to the Past with Madeleine Cake

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

img_1889.jpg

Hello my dear friends!

Unfortunately, cold weather has arrived. I cannot adapt to the transition from hot weather to cold weather. That's why I always get sick. I've had the flu for about a week. I can't get better because I can't rest. I have to come to work. I hope I get better soon.

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love to read and cook. That's why I prefer to share good recipes for you on my blog. I have a very emotional personality. That's why I'm influenced by the books I read. You can see me sobbing or laughing out loud with the book in my hand!

I made my recipe for today, inspired by a book I read. In short, I want to tell you his story. I'll go into detail later.

Have you read "In Search of Lost Time" by Marcel Proust? Readers will also understand why I am sharing this recipe. In Search of Lost Time, the book reflects the loss of time and lack of meaning in the world, while tracing the author's childhood memories and experiences of adulthood. It tells us about a madeleine cake dipped in linden and the process of catching lost time.

img_1750.jpg

There is a phrase called “Madeleine de Proust” in French and it is used to describe a smell or taste that takes one to a past memory. I learned this in my research after reading the book.

Madeleine. The history of these tiny famous French cakes is quite old. In fact, it can be called both cake and cookies. It was started in the 1700s. It is one of the most known and loved, very old traditional flavors of the French. The specialty of these cakes, which are soft when newly made, is that they are made in seashell-shaped molds. If you like tea, it will be a great snack with tea. These cakes are enormous and fluffy for the first 15 minutes after they come out of the oven. As it cools and waits, it becomes a cookie-like consistency. Its construction is easy if some rules are followed. Now I will share the recipe and the tips of the cake for you.

img_1749.jpg

Ingredients for Madeleine Cake
-2 eggs
-87 grams of sugar
-33 grams of milk
-125 grams of flour
-5 grams of baking powder
zest of 1 lemon (or vanilla)
-125 grams of melted butter

img_1751.jpg

We whisk the eggs and sugar until frothy. Then we add the baking powder, flour and milk and continue whisking. Finally, we add the butter and lemon peels. After whisking for the last time, we keep our cake dough in the fridge for a minimum of two hours. After our dough rests in the cupboard, we bake it in a preheated 225 degree oven for 3 minutes. After 3 minutes, we turn off the oven. We open the door of the oven, which we turned off the heat, halfway. The cakes are waiting in the oven with the door open for 5 minutes. Then you can enjoy it.

We have come to the end of another recipe. I hope you will like it. I will continue to share my recipes for you. I'm going to try a low-calorie brownie soon. Stay tuned and don't forget to like my post.

img_1752.jpg

I want to ask you one last question. Proust uses the madeleine cake to express that it evokes a very old memory. So what comes to mind when you think of the past? I would be glad if you write this to me as a comment.

Sort:  

I never try madeleine cake before. But, I've read a book that have some recipe in there but never try the recipe too :D I'm so lazy to try it.

I can’t be lazy to try new recipes! ☺️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @EwkaW 🥰

You're very welcome!
I'd love one of those...
or three.. :)

I would liked to offer you these cakes. :)

It got cold in my country too. Your passion for reading, cooking and photography made a wonderful post. In Eastern Europe, this dish is known as "Pelmeni" or "пельмени или вареники". There are varieties that are similar to your dish. I wrote down your reshept and I want to cook it.

Cold weather makes me depressed. :( And now I'm pretty sick. :( I tried this recipe for the first time. Pretty good for a first try. I think it will become one of my favorite recipes from now on. I hope one day I can eat this cake in France.

I hope your health will be normal! In the near future. Great recipe.
I hope one day I can eat this cake in France. - I hope you will accomplish this soon.

I hope! Thanks! :)

This looks good thing to have what morning coffee ;))

This thing is a great reason to have morning coffee! When it is first cooked, it has a soft and cake-like consistency. When it comes to the next days, it turns into a cookie-like structure. That's when you can dip it in your coffee and eat it. :))

Not say it like this, it sounds very sweet and now I need to get it ... 😅😅😅😅👌👌👌

If you were close, I could send. :P Maybe you want to try the recipe. We know it works wonders in the kitchen. :P

😅😅😅👌thank you, I must try it out.