MY FOOD CREATIONS: Delicious Home-made Beef Burgers

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago
Authored by @@strenue

Introduction

Today I am posting about something that I do not often post about, my food creations in the kitchen. The main reason is probably because my wife is such sensational cook, chef quality, who loves to cook, therefore my services are not often required in the kitchen. Today was different as my wife had an extremely busy day and just was not going to have the time to prepare and make dinner.

20220124_181517.jpg

Call in the emergency backup team, ME! Normally I would just a get a call at work asking me to pick up some takeaway on the way home, but today circumstances were different as I was not at work due to COVID-19 work from home arrangements, there was defrosted mince that had to be used.

20220124_173625.jpg

Well I decided to accept the mission and went into action!

The Mission

Prepare dinner for seven hungry mouths. Enough for four adults and three children. Children who like flavour but cannot handle anything with too much spice.

The Core Ingredient

  • Beef Mince - Enough for seven hungry family members.

The Buns

  • Fresh Burger Buns - Soft, fresh and big enough to match the size of the burger patties.

The Supporting Ingredients

  1. Panko Bread Crumbs - To help bind the hamburgers and keep them juicy.
  2. Worcestershire Sauce – Flavour that is deep, smoky and delicious, but not too spicy for the kids.
  3. Egg – Another key to binding all of the ingredients together without drying out.
  4. Milk – The enzymes in milk work to soften and tenderise the minced beef.
  5. Seasoning - Some salt, onion powder and pepper, to get the flavour just right.

The Topping Ingredients

  1. Sliced Cucumber
  2. Sliced Brown Onion
  3. Sliced Red Capsicum
  4. Sliced Carrots
  5. Fresh Cos Lettuce
  6. Sliced Beetroot from a tin
  7. Chopped Pineapple Pieces from a tin (I'd normally used sliced pineapple)

20220124_175450.jpg

20220124_175615.jpg

The Preparation Process

The good news for all the rookie chefs out there like myself, this process is very straight forward and easy to follow. If I can make these, you will have no trouble at all.

  1. Set out a large mixing bowl on the bench. Add the beef mince and all the supporting ingredients (panko bread crumbs, one whole egg, Worcestershire sauce and seasoning).
    20220124_160949.jpg

  2. Once the mixture is well combined and smooth, it is time to shape your burger patties. You can make them as large or small as you like. I found these cool silicone moulds that my wife normally uses for baking. They were just the right size for the burger patties I wanted to create and perfect size for the burger buns.
    20220124_161916.jpg

  3. After gently removing the silicone moulds, I pressed down in the middle of each of the burger patties with a table spoon. The reason for doing this is to prevent the burgers from puffing up while they cook.
    20220124_162128.jpg

  4. Now for the fun part, let's cook! This is the one area that I am confident, cooking a good burger. Place your burger patties in a frying pan or on the grill, I chose to use a frying pan. Pour a thin layer of olive oil in the base of the pan and allowed it to heat up. Once the pan was sizzling hot, added your burger patties. I char my burgers on the outside, but like to keep them nice and juicy on the inside. If you overcook the patties, they will be too dry on the inside.
    20220124_173614.jpg

  5. Once the burgers are nicely charred and you are confident they are cooked through, it is time to serve your creations. This evening everyone was running late for dinner, so I had to store the patties for a bit before they got home. It is always handy to have a good stainless steel bowl that keeps in the heat. Even though the patties sat in the bowl for about ten minutes, they were still hot and juicy when everyone was ready to eat.
    20220124_174312.jpg

  6. Finally it is time to assemble your masterpiece. I love this part of the process, because everyone makes their burger the way they like it. Some people feel the need to add every single topping available (this is me), while others selectively chose their desired topping combinations.
    20220124_181320.jpg
    During our dinner, we even had someone assemble a 'Naked Burger', which is basically a burger patty with all the toppings, but without the bun. This is the perfect alternative for someone who is gluten free or following a low carbohydrate meal plan.
    20220125_123149.jpg

Conclusion

Everyone loved their dinner and thought the burgers were delicious. As the burgers accompanied with lots of fresh toppings, they were quite healthy. It felt great providing a good meal for the family after their long and busy days.

Who knows my wife might even call on my services more frequently from now on and not just in emergency situations. Watch this space, if I start to post more foodie posts over the next few months, then you know I have garnered the confidence of my wife to prepare meals for the family on a more regular basis.

20220124_181517.jpg

Post authored by @strenue
Swan_Logo web size-xs.png

Sort:  

Me and puppy dog think that those are absolutely phenomenal and now you've got us wanting burgers so we have to run to the store...

Looks like I'm going to have to get a burger just for my puppy dog.

He really loves burgers and that recipe looks absolutely awesome I would probably do a bunch of grilled onions and some sauteed mushrooms.

Absolutely delicious and really appreciate your post today and I think I'm going to share it!

So much better than seeing some vegan post.

A balanced diet is so much better for you than a diet that is unhealthy! I absolutely love all those fresh vegetables. And part of the reason why I like a really good burger is the fresh vegetables.

Many blessings for your continued culinary exploits to grace my feed in the future.

img_0.4417143152492385.jpg

What an encouraging and great reply. Thank you, hope you enjoyed the burgers.

Absolutely we cannot wait to see more of your excellent healthy balanced food preparation! Very healthy burger right there. Mmmm

Wow, those burgers are huge, they make me drool. With that being said, I will try it out. Good afternoon!

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Masterpiece!!!
Yummy!
I'm hungry!!!

Your burgers look very delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Home made burgers! Always been the best 😌😋