Fermenting Cabbage for Gut Health - by Sunscape

fermenting-cabbage-a.jpg

It is time once again to make another batch of Sauerkraut. I have been doing so for the past 2 years to assist in healing my gut. The probiotics and vitamin K2, which are known for their health benefits, have really made a difference in my overall health.

I used to suffer from severe acid reflux and would often be up all night with severe heartburn and often vomited up my meal in the middle of the night. I was desperate to find a natural solution as the medicine the doctor put me on was not easing the situation any.

Thus, fermenting and pickling a variety of my organic veggies, grown by myself began my healing journey. Today, I will share this simple method I do to make my own Sauerkraut.

Homemade Sauerkraut


fermenting-cabbage-healthy-gut-1.jpg

The process is really simple.

  • Choose a large head of Cabbage and peel off the outer leaves saving one for the jar to cover the slaw.
  • Slice your cabbage into very thin slices after removing the core.
  • Sprinkle the cabbage with about 1 good Tablespoon of sea salt.
  • You can let it rest for about 15 minutes to allow some of the juices to flow.
  • This is where you begin massaging the cabbage with your hands or use a wooden pounding tool to help the cabbage release its own brine.

    fermenting-cabbage-healthy-gut-2.jpg

  • After pounding down the cabbage you should see brine in the bottom of the bowl and the cabbage will have shrunk somewhat.
  • I like to sprinkle the cabbage with some Caraway Seed as I like the added flavor it gives. You can omit this if you want to.
  • Begin packing the cabbage into a sterilized glass container pressing it down tightly to remove any air pockets.
  • Continue filling the jar and pour all the brine on top to submerge all the cabbage.
  • Trim your reserved cabbage leaf to the size of the jar's opening and place it on top of the cabbage. At this stage, I add a glass weight on top of the leaf to keep all the cabbage under the brine and reduce the risk of any of it floating to the top.
Glass Fermenting Weight


fermenting-cabbage-b.jpgfermenting-cabbage-c.jpg

At this stage, I add a glass weight on top of the leaf to keep all the cabbage under the brine and reduce the risk of any of it floating to the top. Place your jar on the countertop out of direct sunlight for 1-3 weeks depending on how sour you like it to be.

During the fermenting process, it is a good idea to place your jar on a plate in case any of the juice spills out of the jar from the gas buildup. When you see a lot of bubbles it is a good idea to open the lid and let some of the gas escape. I do this every 2 days or so.

fermenting.jpg

The bubbles will subside after 5 or 6 days but the fermenting process will continue. The longer you leave it out at room temperature the sourer it becomes.

When you are satisfied with the sourness you desire it is time to pack your Sauerkraut into smaller jars. This is an easy way to store them in your refrigerator for many months.

fermenting-cabbage-d.jpg

Benefits of Sauerkraut


1- Boosts the Immune System
2- Improves Digestion
3- Helps to lose weight
4- Loaded with nutrition
5- Helps bone strength due to K2
6- May reduce Cancer risk
7- May help with Heart Health

Nutritional Values


Sauerkraut contains many nutrients important for optimal health. One cup (142 grams) provides (2Trusted Source):

Calories: 27
Fat: 0 grams
Carbs: 6 grams
Fiber: 4 grams
Protein: 1 gram
Sodium: 41% of the Daily Value (DV)
Vitamin C: 23% of the DV
Vitamin K1: 15% of the DV
Iron: 12% of the DV
Manganese: 9% of the DV
Vitamin B6: 11% of the DV
Folate: 9% of the DV
Copper: 15% of the DV
Potassium: 5% of the DV
SOURCE

fermented.jpg

I like to add the Sauerkraut on top of my salad every day which gives it a nice little zing. I have it here with some pickled beets and salmon which was quite delightful.

It is not necessary to eat an entire cup per day, eating 2 Tablespoons will give you the wonderful probiotics to help heal your digestive tract. I can attest to that after doing so for a couple of years.

I hope this inspires some of you to make your own Sauerkraut to begin your journey to a healthier gut, I know I am so grateful that I did.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1641880936739381248 twitter metadata:MTU4OTY2MTE4NjAzMDgxMzE4NXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNTg5NjYxMTg2MDMwODEzMTg1L3N0YXR1cy8xNjQxODgwOTM2NzM5MzgxMjQ4fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @dayadam, @hive-173296 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for your support!

I started doing this when we had leftover cabbage from soup. It's neat seeing the fermentation process. I also want to look into making kim chi as it's good for the gut as well.

I def spar with similar issues. I take tumeric curcumin for inflammation but it seems to kick in my indigestion which probiotics tend to alleviate.

Thanks for sharing!

That is awesome! I do Turmeric too and other fermented veggies and I am so amazed at how much better I feel.

I ate some yesterday. I love it and hopefully I will remember to eat more tomorrow at lunch.

Having a little each or every other day will make such a huge difference in your gut health. We all need to be more aware of how good fermenting is for us.

Ttue. Probiotics are essential.

This our favorite winter treat! Both as salad or cooked, or meat wrapped.

I am loving doing my own Sauerlkrwut it has changed my overall health for sure. Plus, it is so simple to do!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@dayadam/re-leothreads-3axmvrggm
https://leofinance.io/threads/@plantpoweronhive/re-leothreads-6rdscb
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( dayadam, plantpoweronhive ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Excellent recommendation, I will write it down and take it into account since I have a lot of gastrointestinal problems and at this moment I am taking antibiotics and the discomfort is even worse. Thank you for this. Regards @sunscape

You are most welcome @dayadam you will be amazed at how much the probiotics help heal the intestines.

I love sauerkraut with caraway seeds! I've added cabbage back to the garden this year and hope to be making my own kraut. I eat a small serving every night for the probiotics. I think it has helped my hiatal hernia/reflux issues.

Good for you! I too had a hernia and an ulcer as well. It has healed that and my stomach feels so much better. I am growing some cabbage this year and I am going to try doing it in large hanging pots, lol. Well, a few anyway.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much!

I Saw this thing on market. Oh I think I can make for myself. 😊

https://reddit.com/r/Cocina_Creativa/comments/127vrsk/fermenting_cabbage_for_gut_health_by_sunscape/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Right on!! This is the best.
Show us a kimchi post?? 😁
Can you make kimchi?? 🙏

I do make Kimchi and here is the post I did last year. Hope you enjoy that one!
https://hive.blog/hive-120586/@sunscape/kimchi-fermented-foods-for-gut-health
food-fermenting-kimchi.jpg

That looks insane :) loving the sesame seeds in there, nice touch, and a little extra protein too 👌🏼
Nice one

I love it , especially for healthier gut. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @ladyfoth I love making fermented veggies of all kinds. My health is so much better due to them all. Have a great weekend.

You're most welcome.