Lemon Zucchini Bread - by Sunscape

bread-lemon-zucchini-4.jpg

With so many zucchini's from the garden it was time to find something to do with them. This is one of the recipes I have made for years and it is delightful when drizzled with the lemon glaze.

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Sift together:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 tsp. cinnamon (optional)
1/4 tsp. powdered ginger (optional)

Combine:

1 cup finely shredded, unpeeled zucchini
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup cooking oil
1 egg
2 Tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
the zest from 1 lemon

Glaze

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 Tablespoon lemon juice

bread-lemon-zucchini-.jpg

I took out the salad shooter to shred all the zucchini to make a few different recipes.

bread-lemon-zucchini-b.jpg

I really made fast work in shredding all the zucchini.

bread-lemon-zucchini-c.jpg

I ended up with 10 cups of zucchini. The first two were fairly dry once shredded but the last ones were real moist. So I put them into a netted bag to squeeze out the excess water.

bread-lemon-zucchini-1 (1).jpg

Combine the sugar, zucchini, cooking oil, egg, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Note: I added a cup of finely chopped walnuts at the last minute. (not in the recipe)

bread-lemon-zucchini-2 (1).jpg

Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and salt together. Then add the dry ingredients to the zucchini mixture; stir until combined.

bread-lemon-zucchini-e.jpg

Spoon the batter into prepared loaf pans. I used small loaf pans for this batch so I could share them with my neighbors.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

bread-lemon-zucchini-g.jpg

Cool the pans on a wire rack for a few minutes, then remove the bread from the pans and cool completely.

bread-lemon-zucchini-h.jpg

It had a wonderful fresh lemony scent once taken out of the oven. I had to restrain myself from cutting into a loaf before I glazed it.

bread-lemon-zucchini-3.jpg

Once cool, combine the ingredients for the glaze and drizzle it over the bread.

*Note: You can omit the cinnamon, ginger, and walnuts. I make it both ways and it is always delicious.

Stay tuned for upcoming posts where I will share how I used the rest of the shredded zucchini.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

It looks so good! Thanks for the recipe, dear @sunscape ❤️

Thanks, Silvia and your welcome, enjoy!

Already feeling hungry 😛😛

You are one such wonderfully perfect baker.
Oh! Btw am waiting for my slice to be served with gently drizzled with maple syrup.

Cheers!:)

That sounds delightful.

I wish I was your neighbour right now so I could have this recipe.. 😁
Zucchini bread.. that's awesome!

Wow! I wish I could taste this through my computer screen.
What a creative thing to do with the harvest from your garden. This is truly amazing.
It would be great if you perhaps sell this stuff to a small niche of clients in your community. I think it would do well:)))