Stromboli for dinner anyone? - by Sunscape

in Foodies Bee Hive2 months ago

stromboli-16.jpg

I made my first Stromboli this week and could not believe how tasty it was. It is very much like making a Calzone, which I had done many years ago. Lately, I have had this urge to try a lot of different recipes. Today, I will share how I made it with you.

Recipe

Homemade Dough for 2


1 and 1/3 cups (320ml) warm water
2 and 1/4 teaspoons (7g) instant or active dry yeast
1 Tablespoon (13g) granulated sugar
2 Tablespoons (30ml) olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
3 and 1/2 cups (about 450g) all-purpose flour

Fillings for 2

Marinara sauce - I used my homemade pizza sauce
Chopped fresh parsley
Ham and pepperoni - thinly sliced
Mozzarella cheese
Provolone cheese
Black olives (optional)

Egg Wash

Egg wash: 1 large egg beaten with 1 Tablespoon water

Optional: sprinkle with parsley, sea salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, and/or parmesan cheese

Instructions


Whisk the warm water, yeast, and granulated sugar together in the bowl of your stand mixer fitted with a dough hook. Cover and allow to rest for 5 minutes. Add the olive oil, salt, and flour. Beat on low speed for 2 minutes. knead for 5 minutes in the mixer.

stromboli-a.jpg

Rise: Lightly grease a large bowl with oil or nonstick spray—just use the same bowl you used for the dough. Place the dough in the bowl, turning it to coat all sides in the oil. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and allow the dough to rise at room temperature for 60-90 minutes or until double in size.

When the dough is ready, punch it down to release the air. Divide it in half. On a floured work surface using a floured rolling pin, roll each half of the dough into a 10×16-inch rectangle. (I only used one of the dough and froze the second for later use.)

stromboli-6.jpg

Put a layer of sauce onto the dough leaving a 1-inch border on the sides. Start layering your meat, seasonings, and cheese.

stromboli-b.jpg

Continue adding your layers using your desired ingredients. Carefully roll the filled dough into a log, brush it with the egg wash if desired, and sprinkle with seasonings too.

stromboli-c.jpg

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Place the log onto a parchment-lined tray and bake until golden brown about 25- 30 minutes.

stromboli-14.jpg

Remove from oven and let rest a few minutes before serving.

stromboli-18.jpg

I served the Stromboli with a tossed salad with avocados drizzled with red wine vinaigrette. One note I would like to make is that I would not roll the dough out as thinly as I did, as it wanted to tear a bit as I was rolling it into the log. All in all, the taste was amazing just the same.

stromboli-15.jpg

Bon appetit!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Delicious meal! @sunscape
I haven't had stromboli in years and crave it now.

Have you ever thought about making a cookbook with your delicious family recipes and terrific food photos? I'd suggest doing a YouTube channel but that sounds like too much work.

!LUV !HUGS !PIZZA !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @sunscape and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Oh, this way is just fine with me, a YouTube channel is way too much work and I need to have a lot of spare time for the gardens most of the year.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, Ackhoo.

Wow!! It looks delicious!! And it’s your first one!! You’ll be the queen of Stromboli!!

I was surprised at how good the Stromboli was, and I plan on making another variety later on. Thanks for commenting.

That looks sooo good! And the avocado salad looked great to accompany it.

Thank you, Pam it was so delicious and my husband said I could make the stromboli anytime.

It made my mouth water. How delicious

Teehee, your cakes make my mouth water too. ;-)

hahaha yes the truth is that my cakes are delicious... I just want to make one to sell in portions to see how that goes!

I think that would be a great idea, not everyone can eat a whole cake, well perhaps. ;-)

If I feel like it's a good idea, I hope to be able to do it soon and promote them.

Looks good. 😀👍

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ninahaskin(2/5) tipped @sunscape

That looks and sounds amazingly delicious, something different I have not tried either.

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @sunscape and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/16 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.