Traditional Amish White Bread - by Sunscape

in Foodies Bee Hive4 months ago

bread-amish-recipe-12 (1).jpg

If you know me at all, you know that I love making homemade bread. I have been trying many different recipes over the past few years. This week I decided to make this "Amish" white bread recipe.

I actually grew up in an area in southwestern New York that has a significant Amish community. So, it seemed like a win-win from my perspective as I know them to be excellent bakers.

"Amish White Bread"

Ingredients:

2 cups warm water (around 110°F)
⅓ cup granulated sugar (67g)
2 Tablespoons honey
1 ½ Tablespoons active dry yeast
¼ cup vegetable or canola oil
1 ½ teaspoons salt
5 ½ to 6 cups bread flour, scooped & leveled (846g)
2 Tablespoons salted butter, for brushing on top of the finished loaves (optional)

  1. Combine the warm water, honey, sugar, and yeast in a bowl and let the yeast proof until foamy, about 5 - 10 minutes.

    bread-amish-recipe-1.jpg

  2. Once the yeast has been proofed pour it into your stand mixer, then add the oil, salt, and 2 cups of flour and mix on low until combined.

  3. Continue adding the rest of the flour one cup at a time, on medium speed with your dough hook. It will take about 5 minutes or so for the dough to become smooth and pull away from the sides of the bowl.

    bread-amish-recipe-2 (1).jpg

  4. Transfer the dough to a large greased bowl, and turn the bread dough over once to coat it lightly in the oil. Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough rise until doubled in size, about 1 hour.

    bread-amish-recipe-3 (1).jpg

  5. Once the dough has doubled in size, punch it down with your fist a few times, then divide the dough in half.

  6. Shape your dough into loaves and place it into the prepared pans.

    bread-amish-recipe-9.jpg

  7. Cover the bread tins with a dish towel and let them rise for another 45 minutes or until the dough is one inch above the tin.

  8. Bake your bread in a preheated 350° F. oven for approximately 30 minutes or until it is lightly brown. You can also test for doneness by thumping the top of the loaf and it will create a hollow sound.

    bread-amish-recipe-4.jpg

  9. Let the bread rest in the tins for a few minutes and then place them on a rack to cool well before slicing. If you choose to you can brush the tops with butter after removing them from the pans.

Can you smell the wonderful aroma of the fresh-baked bread just out of the oven? It was awesome, especially on this cold, wintery day. It was very hard not to cut into the bread right away, but I managed to restrain myself.

bread-amish-recipe-13.jpg

I hope you enjoyed today's bread post and will decide to bake some homemade bread for yourself.

Recipe Source

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Wonderful bread! I would love to have two big slices!🙀😂

I think @kaminchan you have a bit of a sweet tooth and love baked goods. ;-) Have a wonderful week my friend.

Thank you very much. Yup! I love all bread and cakes and pies!

Se ve muy delicioso 😍

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 14000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 15000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you very much!

All good @sunscape! You have what it takes to achieve this new goal on Hive! Keep it up!

BTW, our funding proposal needs your support to keep HiveBuzz alive and thriving. Let's make Hive a more exciting place together!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Se ven deliciosos, hermosos y esponjosos!

🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤

Thank you!

As someone who obsessively bakes...I really want to try this. Looks really good, thanks for sharing! Can't wait to try 😁

Enjoy the Amish bread, it rose and baked perfectly for me.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

As always, thank you Achoo you are awesome.

una receta muy practica para realizar en asa te felicito amiga

Yes, and so easy to make!

Bread is so easy when you get into it. When you think about it it's almost the oldest recipe, yet so many people think they'll fail. This is a good solid recipe.

I think people are afraid to make bread and it really is not hard at all. It is a staple in every home and I feel a necessary thing to know how to do. Thanks for your comment and support @riverflows

My dear this one look so good

Oh thank you, Denisse and yes it is very nice for sandwiches and so easy to make.

Certainly some sandwiches were delicious. I hope everything is fine at home, dear Wanda.

Everything is wonderful and I am looking forward to a better new year in 2024.

I'm sure this year will be wonderful.

I love the smell of freshly baked bread, that's the benefit of knowing how to make it. Your bread is very delicious, excellent recipe.

Thank you, I agree there is nothing like fresh baked bread wafting through the house, well except perhaps an Apple pie cooking, ;-)

That would be great too. Greetings

These breads look simply fabulous!

It is such an easy recipe and never fails to come out perfect every time.

I used to make 2 loaves of potato bread every day or other day for several years. But I had to drop wheat and nightshades and that was the end of that. Your loaves are gorgeous!

I think you would enjoy making bread again, try using gluten-free flour instead. We are getting a big wind storm today and perhaps some snow too. Stay warm.

Oh my gosh that looks delicious!! Bread is my weakness!

Thank you so much, it comes out perfect every time and it is always good. I too love bread and bake different kinds often. Thank you also for the re-blog.

❤️🙏 I'll post pics and tag you when I get round to trying it out. I've always wanted to make kitke/ challah. I was raised Christian but we went to a Jewish preschool. We used to make them as kids. I think we just did the plaiting part tbh. There's nothing like it though hey. Best bread in the world

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Se ve muy delicioso 😊 gracias por compartir la receta

You are most welcome!

I used to make 2 loaves of potato bread every day or every other day for several years. But then I had to drop wheat and nightshades, so that was that.

Your loaves are just gorgeous!