TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #32: Tasty Spicy Chicken Curry ๐Ÿ˜‹

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the food we've been making at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

I haven't had time to try new recipes for a while since we've been pretty busy but the other day I saw our local supermarket had their own chicken curry paste and since Seany loves chicken curry I thought I'd give it a try since it's pretty easy to make and they also had instructions on the back. I've never made curry before so this was a good start.

image.png

Since this was my first time making chicken curry, I followed the instructions on the back of the packet. And here are the ingredients I used:

  • 2 frozen chicken breasts (defrosted)
  • 2 potatoes
  • light coconut milk
  • chicken curry paste
  • water

image.png

I also cooked some rice with vegetables to pair with the curry, and while the rice was cooking I prepared the curry.

Step 1: Wash and cut the potatoes into cubes. I kept the cubes a little smaller so the potato would soften faster while boiling.

image.png

Step 2: Wash and cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. I sliced them into strips first then into smaller pieces.

image.png

And we end up with this plate of chicken.

image.png

Step 3: Heat up a pot and stir fry meat and potatoes with chicken curry paste over low heat.

image.png

I poured in the curry paste and mixed it with the chicken and potatoes and mixed in some water while bringing the pot to a boil. We mix until the curry paste was well incorporated.

image.png

Step 4: Add in the coconut milk and stir it into the curry. I know the recipe pack calls for thick coconut milk but I could only find this light milk at the store, and this is healthier I guess.

image.png

Step 5: We stir and let the curry boil a little bit until the chicken is cooked.

image.png

Then the rice was ready just in time for the curry to be served!

image.png

It's time to serve! We served the rice in bowls since we were going to scoop the curry onto our rice.

image.png

The curry actually tasted pretty good! It was a little bit on the spicy side but it thankfully wasn't too thick or too diluted. The consistency was just right, and the chicken was nicely cooked too without it being too dry or overcooked.

But some of the potatoes were a little hard still so if I were to make this again I would boil the potatoes first so that they'll be softer, because boiling it too long with the chicken would overcook the chicken.

image.png

Overall though it was a very nice meal and the rice paired well with the curry too. It was a little spicier than we would've liked so maybe I wouldn't use so much of the paste next time I make this. But I will definitely try to make this again!

I know proper chefs will say you should make curry from scratch but I don't have the ingredients to make curry and buying all that will be too much for a dish I'm not familiar with and probably won't cook that often since it takes a long time too. Anyway these packets didn't cost much and are so much more convenient. If you ever want to have curry at home but don't have a lot of time I suggest trying it too!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #31: Fluffy Pancakes as Breakfast for Dinner! ๐Ÿฅž


Posted via foodiesunite.net