Quick and Easy Pretzel Buns

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

Quick and Easy Pretzel Buns

20201021_154548_resized.jpg

Want something different? For a while now I have been interested in making soft pretzel buns. I started researching the process and there is a ton of stuff out there for pretzel dough that is extremely time consuming (time... one of the things I lack much of since I work over 225 hours a month).

While looking through all the dough recipes, I realized that I love my semi-homemade mentality (it serves me well), and decided to try my hand at using rhodes bread roll dough (the recipe that I found actually used biscuit dough) and see if I could utilize the rolls in a way that cuts the preparation and baking time by hours. This is what I came up with (let's hope it works!).

Ingredients:

12 Rhodes Dinner Rolls
1/4 cup Baking Soda
1/4 cup Butter
Coarse salt (for sprinkling)
1 Egg beaten - (My missing ingredient 😆)

20201021_134945_resized.jpg

Place the 12 bread rolls on a parchment covered baking sheet and allow to thaw, Once thawed cut an X on the top of the roll.

20201021_140932_resized.jpg

Give them about 15 minutes on top of the stove to rise (preheat your oven to 425 degrees, this will lend to the rise process).

Bring a pan of water to a rolling boil and dump the baking soda into the boiling water.

20201021_152027_resized.jpg

Then place each of the dough balls into the water and boil for 1 minute.

20201021_152151_resized.jpg

Take a slotted spoon and remove each of the dough balls back on to the parchment paper with the X side up.

Change the parchment paper out so that no water drips influence the baking process.

20201021_152529_resized.jpg

Oops!! I was supposed to use egg wash on the top and I used butter instead DOH!
Be patient with me, this is afterall, my first attempt at my own version 😆

This is where I should have used the egg wash, but as you can see I used butter instead.

20201021_152828_resized.jpg

Add a pinch of course salt to the top of each pretzel ball.

Place in the oven and Bake for 15 minutes.

20201021_154455_resized.jpg

OMG!!!! They turned out beautifully despite the missing egg wash. They taste exactly like they should and that makes me so very happy!

As I stated when we began the recipe, I researched the process and I believe it is important to give credit to the Pinterest recipe that I borrowed ideas from, even if I did not follow the actual recipe: Best Recipes @ https://pin.it/5cbAqSL

Enjoy!

@}->- @Tempy43

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Congratulations @tempy43! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month