Delicious Homemade Twisted Doughnuts for Sharing Joy

A sugary doughnut paired with a sticky chocolate dip? you would not want to miss this! Crunchy on the outside and delightfully soft inside. As you chew, the flavours dancing on your palate, leaving you crave for more and more! ;)

A couple of years ago, I used to make these doughnuts for school to raise funds for children every Friday, as my donation. It helped raise funds for children's activities and supplies.

The children and parents would normally queue for it, even the teachers would go out to buy them.

They even asked me for the recipe to publish in school recipe book, which I provided even though I thought our sales would decrease. Amazingly, they didn't; for some reason, they still queued for them.

We timed it just as school finished. It was fun. You'd see me by the school gate selling them; at that point, they called me the "doughnut Lady," haha! and sometimes the school supervisor would sell with me.

Everything stopped after COVID, and I have not made them since then. Today, my daughter requested them specifically for her birthday to take to her grandad to share. Which he was delighted to indulge in those delicious treats.

Here's how I made them: see ingredients in the recipe photo.

Mix the wet ingredients, warm the butter first to melt then foloow the milk, egg and sugar. Then the yeast.

Mix the dry ingredients.

Combine both dry and wet mixtures thoroughly to form a dough.
Knead until soft.

Leave for 45 minutes covered until doubled in size; I use a warm oven (not fired).

Divide into 16 pieces and roll each to about inches long.

To twist: Roll each to about 8 inches long.

Roll both ends in different directions to create a tension.

Then lift both ends together and watch it twist - this part is really fun!

Once done, cover for a few minutes to rise again. This stage is important to make them more tasty.

Deep fry until brown.

Sprinkle some sugar.

To make a chocolate dip, I simply mix a can of condensed milk and 1/2 cup of cocoa powder thoroughly. No cooking required, a very easy trick! You'll have the most deliciously sticky, creamy, and chocolatey dip.

Make your own doughnuts and spread the delight!

Thank you for looking.

Have a wonderful day!

Mariah 💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

This is very delicious. You prepared and presented it very attractively and very beautifully. I've tried making cakes like this. In Indonesia they call them "kue tambang" because the shape resembles a rope and it's very delicious.

Thank you for the beautiful comment, nice to know that you do this in Indonesia too and what a lovely name for it. 😊

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Yum yum yum. Oh, this looks lovely.
I crave sweet stuff at the moment with my pregnancy. Specially chocolate. Love the decorations 💕

Awww congratulations 🎉 and may you have a beautiful pregnancy all through. You can make those doughnuts, very easy and enjoy. 😊

Thank you very much. It's just my Blood pressure that are running low these view days but they say it's normal. I am really going to try this doughnuts xxx

It is better low than high, I wish you all the best. 😊

Thank you so much I will the comment.

You're welcome 😊

Ah here! How am I supposed to maintain my Baywatch body with you posting stuff like this?

Haha! oops sorry 🤣, Well, maybe just exercise after. Gotta savor that sense of taste. x

My mother used to cook a lot of these when I and my sister were young. I should try to make them on my own too :)