Mister Donut Fukubukuro - Japan 2024

in Foodies Bee Hive2 months ago



clstskjx001hd7qsz42cdc07n_IMG_4896_1.webp
clstskmbs000ya7szbqhqb6bl_IMG_4690_1.webp
clstskslq003zfhszgfjdewld_IMG_4687.webp
clstskuy4004ydoszhsxm3ibj_IMG_4691.webp
clstsl0ys001s6xszhutk1ts4_IMG_4692_2.webp
clstsl41g003xcyszhm0k97kr_IMG_4897_1.webp
clstsl63r005gy1szbs9ega8k_IMG_4900_1.webp

Hi Everyone,

In the past two years of spending New Year's in Japan, one of the highlights is buying various Fukubukuro aka Lucky Bags. These bags are usually great value for the particular brand you purchase from and in most cases, you get much more than you pay for. Many of them you have to pre-order online in November, some of them are ballot forms like MacDonald as they are super popular but with extremely limited stock or some just allow customers to line up in the early hours of the morning.

I bought a few this year and one of them which I didn’t have to wake up early and was available early when I arrived was Mister Donuts. I love Mister Donut in Japan, for gluten intolerant people like BB E can also eat it due to the wheat used in Japan is fine for his stomach. There were 3 tiers of this lucky bag this year with the cheapest at 2400 yen, 3600 yen, and 5900 yen which is the one I bought. While I saw that the line was super long, I did see the staff bringing more of these lucky boxes into the store meaning by the time I got to the front, I should get a chance in getting them.

What I am interested in is the voucher that was included in the box. You get 50 donuts where you can choose whatever you want at a price under 180 yen at any store across Japan. You would have around 6 months to use it and the best part means that all the merch that came with the box is virtually free to you. Just the voucher itself was worth way more than 5900 yen for the 50 donuts. You may think, can we eat 50 donuts during our 2 months in Japan, the answer is yes! I just finished claiming my last 5 donuts last week at the station so it is easily doable considering the whole family loves them.

Another note is there are so many Mister Donut stores around Japan, that you can find them at nearly every station. You simply choose your donuts, show them your card and they will just scan the QR code and pack your donuts. On the receipt, it will show you how many donuts are left to redeem. It’s that simple. I’m so glad we were able to get this Fukubukuro during our stay, save money, and also take some goodies home with us.

In terms of goodies, the towel, small pouch, and diary are what I would use. The bag that came with it may be a bit too colour for my usual outings so I can see the boys taking it out. I wish I had more space in our luggage to buy another one but also wondering if we could eat all those donuts before we leave. Maybe the lower tier ones would be an alternative.

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

This lucky box concept is very interesting and also very cool, and it is ideal to use it over time, just as you say, 6 months is an ideal period to claim all those donuts. This is a very good marketing alternative. Greetings @travelgirl

@sagarkothari88 vote

That's a great deal! So awesome

yesssss, glad we got it

but please watch out for your healty my friend,

Hi @travelgirl, Good value with the voucher, they want you to keep coming back for more donuts.

Can I ask you for a witness vote please. I am running a witness node, on my private server, hosted here in Adelaide, it would be great to have your support.

Hey, long time no speak! Didn't realise you're a witness. Voted :)

Hey yeah, quite new witness about two months now.

Thanks for the vote.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.