You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Face Masks & Tofu Rendang Style

We really do need to come together right now, to support one another and build one another up. There are3 shops where I live that I can go to without a mask. I just won't wear one, we have to wear them everywhere here. I really like to smile at everyone as I walk down the street, it's so important. I can only imagine how hard it is for you to wear one, I really do admire you a lot my friend, you are a warrior. Much love and one day I hope to share some delicious food with you xxxx

Sort:  

Thanks for showing empathy - not everyone does. They think they know, but until you actually have been in that person's shoes, how can you REALLY know? It's not as if I haven't tried, even though I disagreed with teh use of the mask in ALL situations - ie. walking on the beach with hardly anyone around?? Are you kidding me? Sure, in a doctors surgery or busy supermarket. But it's kinda hypocritical - you dont need them on when you are eating, so you dont need them on at a cafe. And that's a busy place. What the???

My amygdala totally hijacks my rational mind when I wear one - I literally go into fight or flight. There's no amount of 'ignoring it' or 'not giving it attention' or 'sucking it up' that can change that, and no amount of meditation, contemplation, change of diet, counselling or anything else to deal with this anxiety can do about it. It's not as if I haven't tried - and I find people who condescend to say I'm being self indulgent or giving focus to something I 'shouldn't' quite unempathetic and lack understanding of what happens to my body when I put one on. There's a reason WHY our government allows exemptions for people like me, and the only people who can question me are the police, and that's fine.

And it's not as if the mask is the only thing I focus on - for the most part, it's not a distraction for my life, only something I won't participate in. There's also tons of other things wrong with it, as you know, including making connections to people. There's a time and a place for them, but blanket rules for man, woman, child across every situation and entire state is ludicrous. And I certainly won't stay home just because of it - that also means the bastards have won!