A Glimpse of Thai-Vietnamese Cuisine at Lemon Grass

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)
Hello Foodie Hiveians! I have always been fond on anything food-related. I like to watch cooking shows and videos on how food is mass-produced. I am even working in a food manufacturing plant. When I go to new places, I make sure that I will try their local delicacies. Using the previous platform, I shared my dining experiences in various food hubs and restos that I have just discovered. Here is a glimpse of restaurants that I have shared that you might want to visit:

Getting Festive @ Feria

Feria is so far my top favorite buffet restaurant. It has much variety in cuisines and with food that are rich in flavors.


Island Noodles: Sachi Authentic Japanese Ramen

Sachi is one of my must-go places when I am craving for ramen. They also have a bunch of Japanese meals to choose from.


Sunny Side of Life 🍳

Imagine your having a hearty breakfast while enjoying the sea view of Boracay. That's what you get when you visit The Sunny Side Cafe in Boracay.


Other than restaurants, I also featured some home-cooked recipes by my father, who is very much into cooking (and also eating 😆). Most of his recipes are Filipino dishes. Here are some of which he prepared for us.


Cebu's Holy Week Staple Food: Binignit 🥣

The Binignit


Papa's Homemade Cooking #1: Chicken Hamonado


Since the pandemic, dining out was not much of an option. I usually just go for take outs or deliveries. All of the restaurants nowadays have been practicing safety protocols against COVID 19. There was this time that my boyfriend and I had to go to the mall for an errand. Since it was timely that his parents were there and wanted to have dinner, we looked for a place to dine. We were craving some Pad Thai so went to Lemon Grass, a Thai-Vietnamese restaurant.

lemon grass (2).jpg

For the soup, we had Tom Yam Thale, which is a sour and spicy soup with fish, squid and shrimps. We were given an option on the spiciness level and we just chose to have it mild. The sourness of the soup reminds me of the Filipino dish called Sinigang. Yet the Sinigang is a bit mild in flavor. I like the Tom Yam Thale since it is not a usual taste for me. The sour taste triggered my appetite and wanted to taste the other dishes.

lemon grass (3).jpg

I ordered of course the one I craved for, Pad Thai. We also chose the less spicy version of the dish. The Pad Thai is stir-fried noodle with bean sprouts, meat and crushed peanuts. Lemon Grass's Pad Thai is a bit on a dry side and less yellowish as compared to the one I tried in Bangkok but the taste is still as flavorful.

padthai.gif

lemon grass (5).jpg

I almost forgot the appetizer.Poh Piah Todd or deep-fried thai spring rolls are mixed shrimp, pork, mushroom, veggies, mung bean sprouts and thread noodle. It is my first time to taste a fried spring roll with rice noodle inside. The spring roll was really crispy outside which complemented the stuffing. The sweet and sour sauce added the flavor to the spring rolls.

lemon grass (4).jpg

Gai Hor Bai Toey or Pandan Chicken is deep fried chicken wrapped in Pandan leaves. The Pandan leaves maintained the juiciness of the boneless chicken.

lemon grass (6).jpg

Last but not least is the Bagoong Fried Rice or Shrimp Paste Rice. I really thought this dish is only in the Philippines but actually it is Thai in origin. What made this rice dish more appetizing is the sour green mango toppings that blended perfectly with the salty shrimp paste. Even without viands, I am already contented with the Bagoong rice.

lemon grass (7).jpg

As our refreshment, we had a pitcher of Citrus and Herb Lemonade. I am really a fan of cucumber lemonade for it's thirst-quenching feels and the oranges and basil also added it's soothing flavor.

lemon grass (1).jpg

Dishes in Lemon Grass range from 200 to 300 pesos ($4-6). For the food, comfort and service (with the added health protocols), it is quite reasonable. I am glad my first non-fast-food dine out since the pandemic is worthwhile.

lemon grass (8).jpg

Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Wandergirl
Wandergirl / MC is a combination of three people – an engineer, a blogger and a mom. She is a chemical engineer by profession aiming to provide value to the food industry. She loves to travel, which is what inspired her to start writing, and she now writes about anything her mind wanders off to. Finally, she is a mom – to three naughty but adorable pets: Ginger (a Labrador), Biggie (50% Shih Tzu and 50% hot dog) and Kitty (an adopted stray cat who is also quite the wanderer).

Thank you for dropping by, upvotes and reblogs will truly be appreciated. And more importantly, feel free to comment down below, I’d really like to know your thoughts. Stay curious and stay safe everyone!

author.jpg

Sort:  

I wonder what those in black color in ramen plate. Black bean noodles? 🤔

Hi @stefen! The black ones on the ramen are shredded wood ear mushrooms.

Oh never heard of these mushroom name before lol

It's name sounded funny. It's shape is really look like ears. 😁

So many yummi dishes. 😍😍😍

must-try dishes 😄

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thai cuisine is one of my favourites
Just looking at the pics and I am salivating...

Yeah, the pandemic and the lockdowns has been crazy...

Me too because of the rich flavor and spiciness of their dishes.

Thankfully vaccines are already available. Things are starting to get normal. 😁