Valentines Dinner Date At Din Tai Fung Japan

Valentines in Japan are different.

While in other countries, it's the guy who gives gifts to the ladies, or maybe both, in Japan, it's the ladies who will give chocolates to the guys they like. And yes, the most common is chocolates but variations are fine, and I don't know any others. Maybe anything sweet..? The homemade, the better. Some ladies give chocolates to male colleagues and male friends as a sign of appreciation too, nothing romantic.

In short, Valentine's is when the girl gives something.

I didn't make any chocolates for my boyfriend though. 😄

But before you judge me, I gave him chocolates I secretly bought and treated him to a dinner date.


The night before Valentine's day was his off day so after my work, we went to Shinjuku. I tried searching for extravagant restaurants but he wanted to eat at Tim Ho Wan in Shinjuku because he likes that part of Shinjuku and he's craving Chinese.

We went late. At 8 PM, many people were waiting outside even when it was raining, and there was a notice that they were already full for the day.

And so, we went to the nearby Takashimaya building and chose to dine at Din Tai Fung. It was my suggestion because I've always wanted to come.

Takashimaya building


Din Tai Fung is located on the 12th floor. Other floors were department floors that were already closed when we arrived and only 12F~14F, the restaurant floors, were open til late.

What's in here

They also offer set meals for lunch and takeout options. In addition, you can get something in boxes but I didn't check what that was because I was starving already.

Before entering, you'll be able to feast your eyes on how dim sum is made.

Glass window showing what they're doing

While waiting for our number to be called, we were choosing what to eat. They provided us with a menu and a place to write our orders. When our number was called after 5~10 minutes of waiting, we still haven't finalized our orders but they were okay with it.

Entrance to the restaurant

We decided to get the things we wanted to eat.

The first thing that arrived was this cold soupy chicken named Shaoxing Wine Marinated Chicken, which became my boyfriend's favorite. Can't really blame him, it was really good. I just didn't like that it was cold.

Shaoxing Wine Marinated Chicken

By the way, we got this hot jasmine tea in a pot but we still ordered cold oolong tea. We were surprised though it came in a small long glass.

Tea time!

The Braised Beef Noodle Soup was unusually delicious. My boyfriend thought it would taste like curry but it didn't which he liked. The soup was already good but the beef was so soft and tender too!

Braised Beef Noodle

It's like comfort food!

We took the soup and ate it with the Kani Fried Rice. Not sure if they're using real crab or imitation crab but it was also good. We only ordered one because it was enough for the two of us.

Fried Rice with Crab

And of course, we got ourselves their signature, Xiao Long Bao.

Xiao Long Bao

There were many variations but we got the usual. It was so delicious! We could have ordered 6 of them but I also wanted a taste of other dishes so we went with only 4.

Soup gushing out

So the reason why I wanted to come here was because of this dish. I went to eat at their branch in Taipei 101, in Taiwan in 2017 with my friends and it was the most heavenly dim sum I've ever tried. Since then, I've always wanted to taste it again but I can't just go to Taiwan for a food trip like I'm hopping on a bus and viola, Taiwan. LOL

Taipei 101, Taiwan, Oct 2017Shinjuku, Japan, Feb 2023

I realized they have the same color of chopsticks even when the country is different. I wanted that in the house. Don't worry, I didn't take the chopsticks home. 😂

Their Pork and Vegetable Dumplings didn't really stand out to me. Maybe because I've already had the dish I came here for? 😅 Nevertheless, just look at the details of how this dumpling was made. It's just amazing.

Dumplings

In addition to their usual menu, they also have a seasonal menu.

Seasonal menu

And yes, I got something from here!

I wanted to eat something sweet and so I got their Strawberry Xiao Long Bao and Chocolate Xiao Long Bao. Good thing we can order a minimum of 2 for each or else, I'll be very hyper that night for eating too many sweets.

Strawberry Xiao Long Bao

It looks like an ordinary xiao long bao but wait til you see the inside.

Strawberry!

There's a sweet strawberry inside, I'm guessing あまおう (read as amaou, don't know in english), and あんこ (sweet bean paste) and probably a little strawberry syrup or maybe jam. It was sweet of course, but it's just right.

Chocolate Xiao Long Bao

Meanwhile, the Chocolate Xiao Long Bao was like eating hot cocoa. It's more to the bitter side of the chocolate. It's good for the occasion since Valentine's day is "choco day" in Japan but after getting a bite, my boyfriend gave me his share. I guess he liked the strawberry more.

The sign board in the entrance

The place is kinda good for couples and looks "expensive" but actually, our bill was just in the "affordable" level. Their service was good, nothing exceptional though but good. So maybe we'll be coming back when we're craving their Xiao Long Bao.


We ended our night at Din Tai Fung but at home, I was waiting for midnight to give my chocolates.

Choco day

He was actually surprised because he didn't see me go out the entire week and was so busy with work so he thought maybe no chocolates for him this year. He was happy with what I gave him, aside from treating him to Din Tai Fung. Happy heart, happy tummy!


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone/camera unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

My Din Tai Fung experience was in Taiwan. hahaha omg naglaway ko gatan-aw ay!

In Taipei 101? That was my first!

Yep sa Taipei 101 nga Din Tai Fung

Well, it was more enjoyable for you guys than making a chocolate at home. By the way, have a good time.

Thanks a lot! Indeed it was fun discovering new restaurants than making chocolates at home.

On My Way Goodbye GIF by Bubble Punk

A very romantic dumpling Valentine ❤️❤️

Weeeee Is it? 😅
Dumplings are great!

Mas sweet pa sa chocolate!

Natakam ako don sa The Braised Beef Noodle Soup tsaka don sa Fried Rice with crab. Sana makakain ako soon kahit walang bebe 🤞.

Belated Happy Valentines ate Witty!

Kahit no bebe, makakain ka rin no, bakit naman hindi.. hahaha
Masarap shuh, gaya nya 😏

i enjoyed your writings as it brought me to the atmosphere you described, I loved the food you posted especially the Fried Rice with Crab, dumpling and Xiao Long Bao also the tea in Japan is very good. 😍

Thank you! This restaurant's xiao long bao can't compare to other restaurants I've been.

Food blogs are back !!!
I love your food pictures in most posts !
Also Ferrero rocher is one of the best chocolates!
Totally agreed 😂(happy heart, happy tummy)😂

Thanksss! Ferrero is really the best!

Valentine's is when the girl gives something.

Ooooh, did you give love on the 14th? 😏

My favs are the fried rice and xiao long bao.

One time my tongue was burned because I bite the bao and poof~ sunog ang dila haha!

Where did you eat? Is there a branch in Manila? Let's go together! 😎

I gave my love in the form of food 🥳

Yep, in Megamall and I think in MOA. 😊

Weeee! I shall visit 🤤 Let’s gooo jiji!

Awwwn
Getting a Japanese waifu is great🥺✨❤️

Nigeria romance is sucking the money I don't have😔

Hahahahahhahaa only if the Japanese waifu is generous~

Wow! This is something really different from Philippines. Dito usually Ang men Ang nagbibigay ng present like flowers, chocolates or cards sa women. At that made me even make an article questioning why usually girls received flowers during valentine's day.

Mas maganda talaga sana if both Yung magbigay ano hehehe. Anyway, Yung Xiao long BAO ba ay parang siopao or siomai hehehe...

Valentine's day here is for a woman to express their love to her male partners but there's also a special day where the males can give back or express their love to their female partners. So ayun, bida ang lalaki sa Feb 14, bida naman ang babae sa ibang araw.

Yung Xiao long BAO ba ay parang siopao or siomai

I guess the same white texture, but when you poke a hole in it, the soup will burst. Masarap syaaa

Kakaiba talaga ano kasi Dito sa Philippines bida usually Ang women sa valentine's day hehehe..

Waaah! Nakakatakam yung food 🤤 and it's fascinating na Valentine's is for women expressing their love in Japan 😊

That means in Valentine day ladies used to gift chocolate to their friends. Oh!!! Sounds cool.😎.

Seeing your photographs shared here it's like the places is looking decent. I hope you enjoy there very well.
And the food seems delicious. 😋

Men feel loved on Valentines day! But not all though, some people don't get chocolates.

Yess, it was delicious!

some people don't get chocolates.

Then if I were there, I would exist in such kind of category 😂.

Hahaha don’t be too hard on yourself. I’m sure someone will give something to you 😉

Oo nga papanood ko yan sa mga Anime girls talaga nagbbgay. Effort pa yan sila at talagang ipag bibake ang mga boys aguy. Sana all lang haha.

Anyways, grabi mga foods huehue. Yang mga bao bao na haan, curious ako jan. Ilang vloggers din ang nag vlog ng about jan ee and how yummy it is. At yony ngiti mo, yiehhhh, sarap yarn UwU.

Nakaka intimidate nga eh, di kasi ako masyadong marunong pa mag gawa2x ng mga chocolatey food but buti nalang di naman nag reklamo si jowa. Actually bet nya din kasi ung bigay ko at ung libre ko hahaha

The Xiao Long Bao? You should definitely try it sometime! If wala dyan, when you go to Manila, try mo. 😅 Di naman to masyadong mahal if ito lang order mo hahaha

Matamis ba ang ngiti? hahaha

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.