Delicious Indian Cuisine in Lucky Corner Banana Leaf Restaurant

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

IMG_20220930_123102.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share a little review of a meal I had recently. It is a banana leaf meal of Indian cuisine in a restaurant called Lucky Corner Banana Leaf Restaurant. It is located in a town called Batang Kali, Selangor, Malaysia. This is a developing town and more shops are starting to operate as new residential areas have been developed on a large scale now. Even this particular restaurant is actually quite new and has been operating for around two months now.

IMG_20221008_125327.jpg

This is the front of the restaurant with the sign board on top. They had a yellow them which is generally considered auspicious by the Indian community.



The ambiance of the restaurant


IMG_20220930_130602.jpg

This is was inside the restaurant. I thought this LED light name was looking cool.

IMG_20220930_130608.jpg

This is under regular lighting which I took so you know the shop isn't actually dark.

IMG_20220930_130633.jpg

This is how the table were arranged for customers to sit and enjoy their meals. Everything looked neat and clean. Every table had a default setting which includes a large kettle of warm water to drink. There were beautiful artworks on the walls of the restaurant. They were mostly depicting the cultural aspects of the Indian community. There were also adequate lights and fans to provide comfort for everyone.

IMG_20220930_123106.jpg

Here's another angle of the restaurant. The people in black tops are the staffs. They were all very friendly and courteous. They politely and patiently served us individually so we can all enjoy our meals. As you can see, there were paintings decorating the restaurant walls. Baby chairs were also available for those with little children.

IMG_20220930_130332.jpg

This is the sink area where we wash our hands before and after eating. For those who are not familiar with this, Indian meals usually eaten with hands traditionally. As the picture speaks for itself, the sink area was also decorated with a beautiful painting of a woman carrying a pot of water.



The food


IMG_20220930_123055.jpg

Now is the time for the best part, which is the food! This is the meal I got. It is a banana leaf meal. It comes with rice, dhal (lentils) curry and some vegetable items. On that day, they had cabbage and spinach. There were also some appalapu (pappadam) which is a fried dough which is eaten like a little side dish for the crispiness. Other items I haven't mention is some sliced cucumber which go well with the meal, and some pickles as well. Oh also, my mom alone got some special pumpkin fried because she was the only one who was vegetarian.

IMG_20220930_123102.jpg

These are all the meals of my family including the extra items which I will share next.

IMG_20220930_123114.jpg

The none vegetarian items are ordered separately. These are chicken varuval. Basically the chicken pieces are cooked with spices and the end product has some thick gravy to eat with. It tasted great and just nice without artificial seasoning.

IMG_20220930_123123.jpg

This is mutton varuval, which is cooked in a similar way except some extra steps perhaps such as cooking the mutton in pressure cooker first. It tasted great as well.

IMG_20220930_123111.jpg

This is rasam which is like a herbal soup. It is made with many spices which not only give a wonderful taste, but also aid digestion after eating the meal. We can pour some of the rasam in the rice and eat like we do with curry or we can just drink it after finishing the meal. I usually do both where I drink it partially.

IMG_20220930_130323.jpg

This is the traditional way of folding the leaf. When we eat normally in a good occasion or just a casual meal, we need to fold the leaf from up to down like this. If it is during a sad occasion such as a funeral event, we need to fold it from the bottom to the top.

IMG_20220930_130358.jpg

This is my father. He ordered a cup of tea to drink after the meal to avoid falling asleep later on. I am not a fan of such beverages after a heavy meal so I did not order any for myself.



My Review


Overall, it was an excellent meal. The food was very tasty and it felt like home-cooked meal. I really wish that more people will get to know of this restaurant and check it out. The price was also reasonable as it costed RM 43.00 for my whole family of 4, as in 3 non-vegetarian meals plus a vegetarian meal. That is a very affordable price, considering we got extra items. I have already visit this restaurant for the second time and will continue to do so until I try out all the other items on the menu.

I rate them 5 out of 5 for good food quality, amiable service and cleanliness. Highly recommended. In case you would like to check it out, you can easily find it on Waze mobile app, which will guide you with the directions to get there.


bitmoji-20180403074205.png

So that is all for today. I am happy to share this review and in the hope that more people will support it because I want them to continue flourishing and come up with more items. Thank you for dropping by and I hope that you have a great day ahead =)



Sort:  

Omg look so yummy and served in the banana leafs looks so cool!!❤️

It was! I ate all of it =) Glad you like it too ♥ Thank you for dropping by :)

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @bhattg and @indiaunited. I will definitely join the discord server. Thanks for sharing :)

That food looks delicious and how interesting that the banana leaf folds differently depending on the occasion.
Here, we use banana leaves for some traditional dishes.

Oh, I see! That is a common thing both our cultures have then. So interesting to find another culture doing similar thing. Glad you found my content interesting. Thank you for dropping by :)

Delicious 😋😋 Enjoy

Thank you xx ♥

You are welcome

♥♥♥

Ooh. The food is being served in banana leaves. I stay in the western part of Nigeria and most time food is served in moin moin leaves I remember asking someone why and she said "the food tastes better that way". I am not sure if it's a myth but it sure looks like the meal was delicious and you enjoyed it.

Oh I see! That is interesting to know. Are the moin moin leaves also banana leaves? I am not sure regarding the leaf adding to taste but I think it was used as it is environment friendly while also being economical. Yes, it was so tasty! Thank you for dropping by =)

No it's not. Moi moi leaf is smaller in size compared to the banana leaf. It is used to wrap moi moi, Eko and some people put rice in it.

Oh alright. Thank you for explaining. I looked it up earlier and one of the images looked like banana leaf which is why I assumed so. It sounds like an interesting dish. I am going to check how it is made.

Looks yummy 😋
How have you been? We used to talk all the time on Skype, I haven't heard from you in a long time. Not sure if you remember me

It was! I ate them all. Well I am not sure as your account seems to be new and no picture. Your name does ring a bell and I think you were offering talk therapy services and then we drifted apart not long after

I tried to contact you a few times before, but I guess you don't use the account anymore. Whatsapp me or send me a text - 0109266785

I no longer use skype.. if you really want to talk then send me a message on insta. Use your real account otherwise I may mistake you for a random person.

I followed you on Instagram

I missed this style of eating. When I was young me and my father used to eat in this style whenever we go fishing on a nearby lake.

Ohh that's nice. Sounds like you had a wonderful time back then. I am so glad my post reminded you of those fond memories. Thanks for dropping by :)

You're welcome and have a nice day ahead.