Flash Fictioner Freewrite Competition #1 - Win $Hive and $HBD!

TFF_Logo.png

Welcome to the first Flash Fiction Freewriter competition!

The Flash Fictioners on Hive are a collective of writers who enjoy telling our stories in the most succinct way possible.

My name is @cryptogee and I started the Flash Fictioners because I love the art of storytelling and am always fascinated when someone can fit an entire story into so few words.

So I thought to myself, I've got some Hive and HBD burning a hole in my wallet, why don't I give some of it away to encourage some budding storytellers to tell their tales while having a bit of fun at the same time!

Theme - 10 Seconds

I have recently become obsessed with time, whether that's the perception or the contemplation of it, I've noticed it has been taking up a lot of my thought space at the moment.

In particular I have been interested the way us writers can bend and manipulate time, a thousand years can pass in a single sentence, a minute can be illustrated over an entire 80,000 word book.

Thus we are the Time Lords!!

So, I want you to give me between 150 and 500 words talking about 10 Seconds

Style

The style is up to you, as long as you're descriptive and tell a good story I'm okay with that.

It does not strictly have to be fiction, in that you may write about a particularly significant 10 seconds in your life, or someone you know.

That's fine, as long as you add some colour to the event. I'm not interested in a boring documentation but rather a story!

Rules

  1. Subscribe to Flash Fictioners community on Hive (Link at bottom of post).

  2. Write a story on the above theme (10 Seconds) in no less than 150 words and no more than 500

  3. The title of the post has to be Flash Fiction Freewriter: 10 Seconds. A word count must be added at the top right hand side of your post.

  4. You can personalise the title by adding after the 10 Seconds bit. So for example:

Flash Fiction Freewriter: 10 Seconds - Ghost However this is completely optional.

  1. Entries must be in by no later than Monday 21st March 23:59 (11:59 p.m.) UTC.

PRIZES!

Now for the juicy bit! Okay seeing as it's the first one, let's kick things off with a bang!!

I'm giving away 40 $Hive in total to the first 3 places, then if a non prizewinning entry grabs my attention, maybe someone has used a beautiful turn of phrase or clever analogy in their story, but did not do enough to win it. That's when you'll get the Special Mention prize.

So the prizes are as follows:

WINNER = 25 $HIVE

2ND PLACE = 10 $HIVE

3RD PLACE = 5 $HIVE

SPECIAL MENTION = 5 $HBD (Prize not always given out)

TLDR Summary.

1. Flash Fiction Competition

2. Subscribe to enter (Strict)

3. 150-500 Words (Strict!)

4. Include word count at top right hand of page.

5. Title of story must include the words, Flash Fiction Freewriter: 10 Seconds More can be appended if needed.

6. Entry deadline Monday 21st March 11:59 p.m. UTC (No entries after this time will be considered. When you enter has no bearing on your chances of winning. It's all about quality!)

7. Prize allocation: 1st place 25 $Hive 2nd place 10 $Hive 3rd place 5 $Hive Special Mention (discretionary) 5 $HBD

8. Payout within 7 days of end of competition.

9. HAVE FUN!

So that's it folks, get clack-clacking on those keyboards and give me your best stories. Take your time, you have till next Monday evening to enter.

Please share this post on all your socials, or with someone you think would like to enter. Also follow me on twitter so you don't miss any future comps.

REMEMBER YOU HAVE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE FLASH FICTIONERS TO ENTER AND HAVE A CHANCE TO WIN YOUR HIVE PRIZES. IT'S COMPLETELY FREE!

Thank you and good luck!

Subscribe to Flash Fictioners

Sample Story - 10 Seconds by Cryptogee

Current UTC time (external link)

Cryptogee

Sort:  

I'm in.

(P.S. Presumably, that STRICT word-count doesn't apply to me. Right? Others, fair enough, but ... I'm The Quill! There's no such thing as "too much Shakespeare.")

Quill

🤣🤣🤣 It will be an excellent lesson in Brevity Sir! Come on you can do it 😂

Cg

I have dealt with you word-count tyrants before and have developed tricks to circumvent your leash on loquaciousness.

You don't know who you're dealing with.

"The Quill"

Hmm, now I'm worried.... 🤔😂

Cg

Done ! I even managed to keep it well under the word limit :)

Also; it is a true story, and I still have flashbacks......

Nice! I liked it :)

Cg


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.