National Taiwan Museum: Unraveling the Past to Comprehend the Present

in Teachers Loungelast month

While settling in a foreign country can be a bit challenging, the adventure that comes with it is something to look forward to.

IMG_1102.jpeg

Nihao beautiful people of Hive! Here I am again, sharing a remarkable adventure I had in the beautiful country of Taiwan as a foreign English teacher.

photo-output.jpeg

Just three days after my arrival, we had a field trip to the Taiwan National Museum, Taipei City, Taiwan. With me were two other local English teachers and the English gifted students. At first, I was hesitant to go with them because I was still new in the school and kind of in the process of getting the hang of everything, but the administrators and teachers assured me by showing kindness and warmth.

IMG_7891.jpeg

This was taken outside the National Taiwan Museum.

photo-output.jpeg

Everyone was extremely excited! I for one, were the most excited because all expenses were paid by the school. 🙃 That note made me happy even more!

photo-output.jpeg
The interior of the museum is remarkably amazing. From its floor, ceiling, and walls, it's giving me an ancient vibe that would transport you to the past. I felt like I was in a different era whilst stepping inside the museum to be more specific.

photo-output.jpeg
The lighting was in a warm tone that would relax you while roaming around and reading every piece of information offered there. Of course, I did not understand what was written there because only a few were in English, the rest was written in Chinese.

photo-output.jpeg

I could say students enjoyed and savored the experience because the reactions on their faces said it all.

photo-output.jpeg

The curiosity that sparkled in their eyes while roaming around gave me the feeling of envy somehow. At the back of my mind, I thought they were so blessed. Experiencing this in high school is one rare opportunity I must say.

photo-output.jpeg

The museum showcases the deep origin of Taiwan and its people. Seeing the relics on display made me appreciate how a certain country could be understood through pieces of artifacts. I should commend the government for doing an excellent job of preserving its history.

photo-output.jpeg

How one can connect the dots and explain a country's origin? Simply, by immersing yourself in its past. That is the reason why I love museums! They are incredibly awesome!

photo-output.jpeg

Honestly, everything that I read and saw there amazed me in many ways. It made me admire this country even more.

photo-output.jpeg

As a foreigner in any country, I think that the best way to have a grasp of the country's present is through its past.

photo-output.jpeg

Immersing myself in Taiwan's rich culture, traditions, and heritage is one way and that is exactly what I am trying to do here. I am planning to thrive as a Filipino here in terms of work, but I wouldn't forget that for me to thrive, I need to embrace and respect the country's culture as my own.

photo-output.jpeg

The smile painted on my face says it all! I had a great time visiting this museum, to be honest! If you have reached this far, I hope someday you can visit National Taiwan Museum. Till next time beautiful people! Zaijian!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 25.04300 lat 121.51596 long d3scr)
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @itsmetim! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks a lot!

That's great @itsmetim! We're excited to see your progress on Hive! We can't wait to see you achieve this next one!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Done already, thanks for the reminder.

Thank you for your support @itsmetim, much appreciated!

We miss you ma'am.. Indeed, you are so blessed! Ingats always..see you when I see you. God bless.

Thanks a million ma'am. God bless you too.

It is really beautiful out there ma'am @itsmetim 😘. Just enjoy stayinh there and have fun 🥰.

Will enjoy for sure ma'am @richdreamer. Every experience is a story to tell.

Looks like you are enjoying Taiwan @itsmetim 😍. You are more pretty there than here in the Philippines 😁.

Hahahah, prettier maybe because I'm a bit stress-free here @mommyjane.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2164.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Beautiful and interesting place. Good experience. Best regards

Thanks for dropping by @reneyasmany!

It surely is! Thanks for dropping by!