A TRUE CHAMPION: DANCING TO MY OWN RHYTHM

in Bee on the Stage2 months ago


“You have to love dancing to stick to it. It gives you nothing back, no manuscripts to store away, no paintings to show on walls and maybe hang in museums, no poems to be printed and sold, nothing but that fleeting moment when you feel alive. It is not for unsteady souls.”
— Merce Cunningham, modern dance choreographer

received_909904560615092.jpeg

DANCING TO MY OWN RHYTHM

Friday, February 23 this year, we celebrated the 10th Year Anniversary of Students Association for Teacher Education (SATE), with the theme "A decade of empowering educators: Honoring the past, Inspiring the future." I joined the THEATRICAL MODERN DANCE and hailed as the CHAMPION for the said competition. This is the first time I joined dancing competition in my college journey. Who would have thought that we, the Filipino Major were able to bring home the bacon.

I won't deny the fact that I have struggled regarding this competition. I stopped dancing back then because I have an asthma but the time, the councils in our school announced that they need participants in Theatrical, no hesitation. I joined in a blink of an eye. I still have an asthma tho but I really wanna join so be it.

received_1097064078284695.jpeg

received_769544435208935.jpeg

The photo is sent to me by my friend and some are from the photojournalist in our school. While dancing, I can feel the tension and loud cheering from different major. I am not feeling nervous because I am so happy to dance again in front of so many people and I am proud for being productive and participative for representing my major. The tiredness we got from practice all paid off.

THE CHAMPION

received_1581776039319170.jpeg

received_334371652340016.jpeg

And just like that, WE MADE IT.
Nothing is impossible. When you believe you can, YOU CAN! Before the announcement, everyone was waiting for us, especially Filipino Major, to be called as the champion. I can’t deny the fact that the other majors are good too. To tell you frankly, I expected that we will win. We deserve to win, after all. I expected that we will win the competition but I did not expect that we will be the champion. I know, because we followed the criteria and we did our very best to win and to give justice to our major.

BELIEVER

1708786159972.jpg

Imagine Dragons, Believer, “Don't you tell me what you think that I could be. I'm the one at the sail, I'm the master of my sea.” And YES, I am winning this day and thankful for God, friends, family, for our majors, and company.

As the day ends, we received a medal and a certificate. I am very happy to be able to share this achievement to you all. I am also proud to our major for cheering and applauding while we are performing. I know, this is not the last competition that I will face but I know that in every competition, the compassion and dedication will be all worth it, for the love of dancing.

“I do not try to dance better than anyone else. I only try to dance better than myself.” — Mikhail Baryshnikov, Russian-American dancer and choreographer

YOU HAVE REACHED THE END OF MY BLOG. THANK YOU FOR READING.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Totally how nice! I am very glad that if you care what, you decided to join and in the end all that effort you put paid off because they were champions, what a nice experience and what beautiful writings you placed in the publication, a greeting ❤️

Yes, it was a great experience. Gladly I joined the competition. Thank you so much for reading!😁

congratulations 👏🏻🎉