Ready for HF25 EN/DE

in Deutsch D-A-CH3 years ago

hive10.png

I just upgraded my hive witness node to version 1.25.0, which means I am ready for the upcoming hard fork 25 happening in about a week on June 30, 14:00 UTC. If you have missed out on all the other posts, here is a short summary of what is changing:

  • Changed curation window and calculation of rewards
  • Conversion from HIVE to HBD
  • Interest only on HBD in savings account
  • Recurring transfers
  • Expiration of governance votes
  • Reallow voting on already paid posts
  • ...

For a more detailed outline please checkout this post by @hiveio.

I have also updated my HIVE monitor tool to show the new version 1.25 in green and version 1.24 in gray:

image.png

You can check it out over here: https://primersion.com/witnesses

For my future self, here is a short guide on how to upgrade a witness node running HIAB:

  • Disable your witness by broadcasting an update_witness operation with STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm as the signing key
  • [Optional: enable backup witness if you have any]
  • git pull
  • ./run.sh install hf25
  • ./run.sh stop
  • ./run.sh clean shm (be careful and don't forget the shm part or you will delete your blocks_log)
  • ./run.sh replay
  • Wait for replay to finish and enable your witness again

In my case replaying took about 12 hours. In the future I am planning to run a node from scratch, without using HIAB, to get even more insight into everything going on in the background.

Please support me and my projects by voting for me as a hive witness:

HIVE (using Hivesigner)



Ich habe gerade meinen HIVE Witness Node auf Version 1.25.0 aktualisiert, was heißt, dass ich bereit für den Hardfork 25 bin, welcher in ca. einer Woche am 30. Juni um 14:00 UTC passieren wird. Falls du die bisherigen Posts darüber verpasst hast, ist hier noch eine kurze Zusammenfassung für dich, was sich alles ändert:

  • Geändertes Curation Fenster und Berechnung der Rewards
  • Konvertierung von HIVE zu HBD
  • Zinsen nur noch für HBD im Savings Account
  • Wiederkehrende Zahlungen
  • Governance Votes laufen ab
  • Voten für bereits ausbezahlte Posts wieder erlauben
  • ...

Für eine genauere Übrsicht und Beschreibung schau bitte bei @hiveio vorbei.

Außerderm habe ich mein HIVE Monitor Tool ergänzt um die neue Version 1.25 in grün anzuzeigen und die Version 1.24 wird nun in grau angezeigt:

image.png

Du kannst dir die Änderung hier anschauen: https://primersion.com/witnesses

Hier ist noch eine kurze Zusammenfassung wie man einen Witness Node der mit HIAB läuft updated:

  • Witness deaktivieren indem man eine update_witness Operation mit STM1111111111111111111111111111111114T1Anm als Signing Key broadcasted
  • [Optional: Backup Witness aktivieren, falls du einen hast]
  • git pull
  • ./run.sh install hf25
  • ./run.sh stop
  • ./run.sh clean shm (ACHTUNG: vergiss nicht den Teil mit shm, ansonsten löscht du den blocks_log)
  • ./run.sh replay
  • Warten bis der Node fertig replayed hat und den Witness wieder aktivieren

In meinem Fall dauerte das ganze ca. 12 Stunden. In der Zukunft möchte ich gerne einen Witness Node von Grund auf selbst aufsetzen, also ohne HIAB, damit ich noch mehr Einsicht in die diversen Prozesse im Hintergrund bekomme.

Bitte unterstütze mich und meine Projekte indem du mich als Witness votest:

HIVE (using Hivesigner)

Sort:  

Good woe. As always.

Two questions, please:

  • hardware used?
  • what is HIAB and where do you pull the code from?

Danke!

 3 years ago (edited) 

HIAB = Hive-in-a-box ;)

@rishi556 has a really good tutorial on that https://peakd.com/hive-139531/@rishi556/how-to-set-up-a-hive-witness-using-hiab-at-version-1-24-4

I am using a server with 64GB of RAM, but 32GB should also be sufficient. An at least 500GB of storage, but 1TB will be better, since it will soon be more than that.

EDIT: Sorry wrong link - have corrected that

What are the full specs of your server?
Are you running dual or quad channel RAM? What frequency?
What sort of speed do you have on your storage?

I'm interested why my replay was 25% faster than yours.

Just checked the logs. My approximation of 12 hours was completely wrong. I was actually replayed after 7.5 hours. The server uses nvme ssds.

That's a very fast replay!
Is that to the point when the first white handle_block comes through or the point where SHM reaches 19Gb and the actual replay part is finished (that took 7.5 hours for me too).

Ok so I checked again:

  • I started the replay at 2021-06-20T16:37:58
  • First handle_block was at 2021-06-20T23:59:29

So in total it took 7 hours 21 minutes and 31 seconds, which really is quite fast :)

Until the first handle_block. I can check it in more detail later :)

Thanks a lot! These specs are for the witness node? I assume that witness only node needs less storage?

Yes they are for the witness node. Currently my witness node is using about 360GB of storage. For a full node you would require more storage, if that's what you mean :)

Yes, exactly. Thanks a lot. I think I'll skip for now :) H-E witness node is enough and it's much cheaper too :)

Meine Stimme hast Du natürlich.

grafik.png

Liebe Grüße Michael

!invest_vote
!jeenger

Danke dir ! :)

Bei Dir ist sie (Stimme) in guten Händen.

Liebe Grüße Michael

!invest_vote

!BEER


Hey @mima2606, here is a little bit of BEER from @primersion for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@mima2606 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@mima2606 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Wish I saw this post earlier. I had to ask on the discord how to upgrade HIAB to HF25.

My replay took a bit less than 9 hours and I found making snapshots super fast.

The performance improvements are significant.

See details in this post. https://peakd.com/hf25/@apshamilton/witness-node-upgrade-to-hf25-hiab-hf25-snapshot-available-for-download

Actually I didn't know how to do it either, because it was the first time for me also. I asked @rishi556 and he helped me out with the instructions on how to do it, which worked out really smoothly :)

I guess mine also took somewhere around 9 hours. I just rounded up to 12 hours, because I was running it over night and was too lazy to check the logs for the exact time xD.

The snapshot feature sounds nice, will check that out later.

And my node still isn’t replayed haha. Give it up for day 4.

You can try to use a snapshot for restoring, maybe that works out better

Probably what I’ll do.

Yes, snapshots are super useful.
If you make them regularly you can have a witness node up and running after a crash in around 30 minutes.

Keep it up , very good work.

I'm upgrading myself now. Lets see how it goes.

Awesome - works like a charm using hiab ;)

Wonderful news and I can not wait!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @primersion.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@mima2606 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@mima2606 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Your contribution was curated manually by @mima2606
Keep up the good work!

Hive New Update