Despicable Me 4 (2024)

in CineTVlast month


Source

 

There are a lot of characters in this new movie, we have Gru and Lucy and the girls again and now we even have a little brother for them, Silas Macullo is back, but.

Do you remember Gru's pet? Because the screenwriter doesn't know, do you remember his mother, because the writers don't remember Drew either? Once again, the writers didn't. What about Dr. Nefario? Once again we leave him behind.

Instead, we still have Margot, Edith and Agnes, who are interesting but barely changed.

The Minions jokes stopped making me laugh after the 2015 spin-off (which I thought was quite funny), the problem is that their jokes didn't add so much to the plot as distract you.

image.png
Source

 

Kids will probably enjoy the jokes, but personally I sometimes lose the plot and should be able to tell that this is a Christopher Nolan movie and not a Gru and the Minions movie.

It's about a luxury family in which only the daughter is a relevant character and the parents are pure filler who look like characters from the infamous Telecinco reality show.

I often think, when I watch children's films, is there anything worse than the main character being an orphan? The answer is yes; a protagonist's parents are completely irrelevant, even a burden.

What about the villains?

I still remember Skinner and Victor from the first one, I loved Macho Man from the second one, and the third one doesn't seem like a great film overall, but it has a very interesting villain. In my opinion this was a badly told joke, on top of that he has his girlfriend who is some kind of Monica Naranjo who adds nothing, and his teacher, I didn't know if they had any input. Plan together or individually.

In fact, I'm not even sure if the villain is him or the professor, assuming it's him, his motivations seem worse to me than Killian's in Iron Man 3.

The soundtrack is excellent, the animation is as good as ever, the Spanish dubbing is fun and listening to Florentino Fernández and Patricia Conde always makes the show great to watch.

But most importantly, I give it a 5 because it's likeable, which certainly didn't make me want to watch Despicable Me, and his motivations seemed better than Killian's in Iron Man 3, worse.