When The Rock becomes a Man ||Snitch.

in CineTV2 years ago

Snitch

Another powerful deliverance from the iconic Dwayne Johnson D'Rock Johnson a.k.a The Rock.
So, I was flipping through my unwatched movies and I came across this gem. Now I keep asking myself, how on earth did I miss this?

A powerful story about a businessman whose son was wrongfully imprisoned after a friend of his son snitches on him. Knowing that his son is innocent of the charges, he tries desperately to save him from prison by risking his life. He makes a deal to snitch on one of the notorious drug dealers in the hood. But all didn't go as planned, and he got dragged further and further down into the rabbit hole he dug to save his son.

This movie was released in 2013 and starred Dwayne Johnson as John Matthews, the businessman. This is the first movie I have seen, where Dwayne Johnson is not being utilized as a force of nature. Instead, he takes on the role of a normal man with a business and family to care for.
The fact that he was down to earth and not applying his smothering intensity, or his athletic capabilities, simply help to push the film further into achieving its desired theme of inspiration.
Showing us how far a father's love for his child can go in protecting them from danger, be it a broken home or one that is still intact.

The lack of CGI in the movie was also very interesting.

But I was secretly hoping they would pause for a minute or two and show us what was really happening to John Matthews's son behind bars. Every time John goes to visit him, his scars multiply. But, it was still very impressive how they allow our imagination run wild, browsing through the endless possibilities of what could be happening to John's son.

But one thing I am still in shock about is the ending. I know the movie is supposed to have a happy ending but the way it ends was quite unsatisfying, especially capturing the cartel boss. I don't know if it's just me but I have seen a couple of drug movies and they explore this kind of scenario in a bit of a rugged manner(guns and explosions). But the movie gave an excuse by placing a child on the battlefield so I guess all is forgiven...

Finally, I enjoyed every bit of this movie despite its flaws. Because there's something about a father, fighting to save his son's life, that is, emotionally captivating. It truly is inspiring with a powerful message and definitely worth the watch.