The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power - Potato Review

in CineTVlast year (edited)

asda (8).jpg
You know the feeling when you eat some foods that leave a bad taste in your mouth, but the dessert makes it worthwhile and leaves a long-lasting impression. You may be wondering why I am talking about food in this community. Well, I didn’t have any other way to explain how I enjoyed this particular series. When the first trailer dropped, I was like, "Damn, this is going to be good. Another month to pass well. At least for me. But when I saw the first episode, it was like, "meh!" What is this garbage?

FKrjbg0VQAMsOot.jpg

All images of this post are properties of "Amazon Prime Video"

I am a kind of movie person. You could say a lazy one. I would watch rather than read. I once tried to read a book named "Hobbit". Well, I read 4 chapters in a month. but lost interest. Not because of the book, because I was lazy. OK, don’t worry. I won't brag about myself any longer. I just wanted to let the book's readers know that my entire review is based on movies and TV shows. I know nothing is better than reading books. All this aside, here I go for my first review.

3900.webp

This part is for those who just watched The Rings of Power. You can skip this part if you are not new to this saga. Well, if you are, don’t worry, you are in here for a treat. This series is the beginning of the Lord of the Rings series. And "Hobbit" is the middle one, and The Lords of the Rings is the ending. You don’t know how much I wish to be in your place to enjoy this again in first to last order. Even though this series isn’t finished yet, I think you will get the general idea. So if you just finished watching this, start watching "Hobbit". It has 3 parts, then the Lord of the Rings. That’s just a recommendation; you can watch them in any order you like. These three sagas are made in such a way that you will enjoy any one of them without watching the other two. And it will definitely leave you with questions like what happened before or what happened after. Food for the brain, I think. And it will provide you with the drive to finish other movies and series. Well, it was like this for me. I hope you will enjoy watching it. Moving onto the next part.

images-1.jpg

Based on J.R.R. Tolkien’s "The Lord of the Rings" and developed by J.D. Payne, this was an extraordinary and ambitious project, I think. The events of this series are thousands of years before "TLOTR". To tap into the J.R.R. Tolkien universe and to visualize it into reality is something to praise. Even thinking about it gives me chills. Even though this series has bad reviews around the world, I personally think it's not perfect but good. About the cast: I think it's perfect. The similarity between "The Lord of the Rings" and "The Rings of Power" is uncanny. You can trace them back to the "Lord of the Rings" characters. To me, the Stranger was the most confusing character of this entire series.

SPOILER

From the beginning, I couldn’t connect with any of the episodes. It felt so dull and boring. I thought there were two different timelines, both running on the same screenplay. and especially the first 4 episodes All the events were so separate that it was hard to understand. I mistook the "Theo" in the Southlands for the "Halbrand" . If you watched the series, you would’ve thought the same. The raids of the Southlands by orcs and the intro to "Hallbrand" were subsequent. In later episodes, it all becomes much more clear as it all comes together. After Episode 6, everything makes sense. And Episode 8 was a slap in Elon Musk's face. Every episode is connected to episode 8 and still different on their own. As I said, Episode 8 is the dessert of the whole series. I was like, damn Now it's interesting. And immediately thought I would rewatch from the beginning.

asda (7).jpg

The evil you can't see or recognize is more dangerous than known evil. I thought Adar was Sauron, but at the end of the series it clearly shows that he wasn't really a bad guy. All he tried was to seek a home for his kind. But young Galadriel took him for evil and judged him. When the true evil grew right under her. When "Halbrand" said, "Do you remember what you did to me?" Even Adar couldn’t recognize him. That means Adar freed Orcs from Sauron’s grasp and tried to give them land where they could live. So, from a point of view, Adar is good.

Words that I liked

"Numenor" – Don’t know why , this word is stuck in my ear like a worm. Not annoying, but elegant in human terms, like royalty. Why human? you may ask. Let me explain. Words like Lindon, Valinor ring like elvish ,wise ,alien and "Khazad-Dum" is like strong, grumpy. "Southlands"- plain word and "Mordor"—feels like death, evil, and orkish. Maybe you think I'm crazy. But in truth, I really differentiate those words like this. Now back to Numenor. It's a little bit like Elvish. And as it sounds, "Numenor", the city is exactly the same. Proudly human with Elf technology, wiser than other human kinds. much more like an elf city on a beginner's level XD.

The most beautiful scenes of the series:

The Three Witches

asda (33).jpg

Elanor “Nori” Brandyfoot

asda (13).jpg

asda (17).jpg

asda (19).jpg

Galadriel

asda (6).jpg

Erruption

asda (1).jpg

asda (2).jpg

asda (3).jpg

asda (4).jpg

asda (5).jpg

Numenor

screen-shot-2022-08-10-at-3-56-42-pm.webp

Galadriel's horse ride
tumblr_bfd988739d6f12f62c0400acb0bf28df_cd0c679c_540.gif

ivhg1yoxihb91.webp

OkZUHizLfDZhTpH-JK4R7Mm90Eyib374u6I0GtAIfNk.webp
Mordor

asda (27).jpg

Eye of Sauron

asda (26).jpg

Numenor boats

ringsofpower.png

cnk6ya0wzwh91.png

My own theories
As I said, all my comments and reviews are based on only movies and TV series. If I am wrong, please feel free to correct me.

asda (11).jpg
I couldn’t place him as Sauron or Gandalf. Through the entire series, he is the most mysterious character. Even after the end of this season, I am not sure who he is. But I crossed out Sauron from the list XD.

asda (29).jpg
So, here's my thoughts about the relations of hobbits with Gandalf. If the stranger is Gandalf, it become much more clear that why he prefers the company of hobbits. Especially with the "Baggins". When he fell, the first person to help him was Nori Brandyfoot. As we know the Harfoots are the ancestor of hobbits. Nori set him on a good path and he thinks that adventures is only good with Harfoots. So, he looks after the descendants of Elanor “Nori” Brandyfoot. That is just one my mad theories😅.
The Stranger and Nori Harfoot
asda (30).jpg

asda (32).jpg

This is my first review. Never done this before. Thanks to @sarashew for nagging me to write and @riz
for giving tips how to write. Let me how it was in the comments. I would love to read your thoughts on my review.
Thank you for reading.

Namárië

asdasdasd.gif

Sort:  

LOTR is very difficult to read, I agree with you! Watching it is better
!1UP

Well said.

Yeah, felt like we got an entirely different show or studio halfway through this series. There was a bit of acting and pacing issues all throughout but compared to what else available today RINGS OF POWER is very decent in comparison. I'm still very curious what a TV adaptation by Peter Jackson would've looked like and was a bit surprised that they really thought hiding that twist behind a guy whose name was basically "hell" "brand" which sounds like "fire" and "ring" was a good idea but Adar was a nice red herring. I sparknoted the books in school so I had no idea that there were elves who had been kidnapped, tortured, and brainwashed by Morgoth.

"Halbrand", now this makes sense and felt little bit stupid 😅 after your explanation 🤣🤣. Hiding in plain sight.

And about the fallen elves, I didn't know where they really came from. This show cleared that for me. I think I need to rewatch LOTR again😅.

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. Much appreciated 😁.

You're welcome! Anytime! I couldn't stomach the books when I was younger but maybe -- hopefully -- I can get through at least one or a full trilogy now that I'm older. I'm also interested in the Silmarillion but I feel that completing the Lord of the Rings trilogy and the Hobbit might be more appropriate first since that was composed after Tolkien's death by his son Christopher and may not have been completed as intended.

I just wanted to finish the book "hobbit" but couldn't, just because I get bored easily. But its really good to read the books. J.J. really takes you to another realm by his writings. Explains every scene, emotions. Sometimes I wish that I had patience for reading 😭.

Silmarillion is on another level. like for die hard fans of J.J. and you are too. Go ahead and read. maybe you can give some insight on that someday 😁

Yeah the Tolkien universe is a very interesting world and if anything the Silmarillion could be a super informative lead since it revolves around major players from the universe's early periods. I'd like to read the Hobbit too. Bilbo seemed like a good character in the movies

All begins with a hobbit😁. I read couple of chapters too and they were good. Happy Reading

Congratulations @ash2-0! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @gwajnberg!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@cine-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

Thanks