You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Film as Art #31 - A Man Escaped (1956) By Robert Bresson

in CineTV3 years ago

I don't know why, movies older than 1960 didn't appeal to me and that's why I ignored them. In my youth, which happened around 1970, I wanted to see newer movies and now my nostalgia stretches between 1960 and 1980. Although I saw "Au Hasard Balthazar" and "Pickpocket", I don't remember any of them. The movie you presented here, A Man Escaped, I haven't seen. I understood about this movie from your post. I vaguely remember the Bresson style and I didn't like it very much, that's what I realize now. Too much austerity. I was young when I saw the two movies and I didn't understand, I wanted a lot and noisy. Thank you for reminding me of Bresson, which must be remembered.
I was away from cineTV last month, I'm sorry I couldn't read all your posts. The good part is that they can be read later.

Sort:  

That is quite alright, I don't post as frequently as I would like to. Sometimes it is quite hard to sit and write, or even think. Also not all of my posts are worth reading.

I've seen most Bresson films only recently, within the last 3-4 years by my estimation. He does have some philosophies that could bar the way of a young person. For example, he says, and I quote, "Hide the ideas, but so that people find them. The most important will be the most hidden." or, "Don't let your backgrounds (avenues, squares, public gardens etc) absorb the faces you are applying to them."
Such an artist is hard to deal with, specially with a distracted mind.

I'm glad to remind you of him, I'm confident you'll find him in a different light now.

Sometimes it is quite hard to sit and write, or even think. Also not all of my posts are worth reading.
Same for me.
From what you wrote here about Bresson and his sayings, I like it!
I don't know if I will have time to review or see his films, at least during this period, but you showed me another area of interest when watching them.