Horror in the 2000s: Pontypool (2008)

in CineTV3 years ago (edited)

pp_title.jpg

An interesting, uniquely Canadian tale about the residents of Pontypool, Ontario.

Grant Mazzie is a radio announcer in the small town of Pontypool. He seems like a big fish in a small pond and has a large personality. He's at the radio station with his station manager Sydney and technical assistant Laurel-Ann. They both know what he's about and I don't think this comes as any surprise to Grant. He's been doing this gig for a long time now and knows how to perform once the "on air" light illuminates.

The film is set primarily within the radio station. Long shots of lingering faces and descriptions of what's happening. This is tell not show. Usually a cardinal sin in the film world but works nicely here. Tension is built organically over time and this is a slow boil.

Ken Loney, our traffic helicopter man is on the line with Grant with his usual traffic report. This day is different though. He's describing reports of a nearby riot and deaths have occurred. This is not the standard day in Pontypool. All of this happened at the office of a Dr. Mendez. Very odd.

pp_1.jpg

This story is picking up steam and they're contacted by the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation). Something must be very wrong and nobody knows what's happening.

A break in transmission happens with a message in French. This is not standard operating procedure in their world. Laurel-Ann quickly translates the message of unknown origin and it appears on Grant's screen. He begins reading on the air without knowing what it says.

"For your safety, please avoid contact with close family members and restrain from the following; all terms of endearment, rhetorical discourse. For greater safety please avoid the English language. Please do not translate this message."

We witness Mr. Mazzie realize what he has just done. Something is very wrong here. Who sent this message over the airwaves? How did they override their signal. The most important questions becomes, what is happening out there?

Spoiler but not a spoiler. This is an interesting spin on the ever popular zombie theme.

pp_2.jpg

Instead of zombies the virus or infection is language. This is a brilliant idea and I can't believe I've never seen anything like this before.

Certain words can be the trigger. You end up repeating them over and over. This is the early sign of the virus taking hold. The trick is altering your own perception of the word and assigning a new meaning to it. A new language within language must be created to survive.

I hope you're bilingual as those who are not are at a much higher risk!

Can you imagine language being a point of infection? This is the basis of the film and a scary one to think of especially during these times. A unique film that has stuck in the recesses of my brain for many years and a welcome distraction from the standard zombie fare.

Rotten Tomatoes is sitting at a 84% critics rating and a 68% audience rating. I was always under the impression nobody has seen this film. This is a fun one and deviates from the mold. A resounding 7 for me and recommended.

A killer cut of a trailer too that makes me want to watch it.

All media courtesy of themoviedb.org

Thanks for running this interesting challenge @wiseagent and be sure to visit the informational posting for all the details.

I noticed @badnewsbeards is running a fun horror movie challenge so check it out. I'm probably not abiding by the rules but I'll be including the #horrorchallenge tag in my horror related postings anyhow. If this is a problem, let me know. Have fun in your personal challenge and I look forward to reading your entries!

Sort:  

Great writeup of an amazing film!
Stephen McHattie is so mesmerizing in his role. He absolutely killed it.
I think this movie is destined to make the ranks of zombie cult classics. It certainly deserves to.
Your entry is perfectly fine for my contest. My rules are super lax and I probably wouldn't enforce them anyways lol.
Thanks so much for participating and bringing attention to this gem of a movie!

I'm glad to hear this fits in with your contest and that's great to hear you've watched this. I bring this up once in awhile and people have never heard of it before. Here's to October and the month of horror!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @qurator and @ewkaw very much.

This is a spooky month so if you need me to stand guard for any ghouls or zombies while you're taking photos EwkaW let me know and I'll be right over 😀

Haha thanks :D
I will shoot them! I shoot them too :P

Congratulations @buffalobison! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Thanks for your participation in the contest, @buffalobison.

Please, add the correct tag - #thebestofhorror - becausethis is how I'm gonna find all posts related to the contest.

Thanks for the heads up. I missed that pesky "the" part of the tag.

I did not know her. A good opportunity to download it and watch it. Regards @buffalobison.

... For greater safety please avoid the English language. Please do not translate this message.

Oh my, the suspense begins! This is absolutely thrilling! I have not watched this movie but with this review, I'll go search for it and watch.

Can you imagine language being a point of infection?

What?! That give me the creeps. I hope it does not come to his! 😂

Nicely done and good luck in contests.

Thanks so much for stopping by and reading. This one knows how to build the suspense and delivers.

Good luck to you too, I just noticed you wrote a review, I'll be over shortly.

Watch what you say you never know the point of infection 😀

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more