Oblivion

in CineTV3 months ago

My wife isn't a fan of Tom Cruise, and I tried to get her to watch this film for months, but Tom Cruise, combined with Sci Fi (which she hates) was just too much for her. It took me ages to get around to watching this film because of that. And I'm glad I did, really glad. It's one of my favourite films to date. I'm a bit of a sucker for sci fi you see.

Oblivion is not only a masterpiece with the visuals, but it is a masterpiece with OST as well. Sometimes when the day has been stressful I like to sit down with the full soundtrack of this film and unwind for a bit. My favourite being this one:

Can you imagine me with my Baton in hand, waving it around like I was some sort of orchestral conductor? Yes. This is me after a stressful day.

It's becoming weird that as I think about it, two of my most favourite sci fi movies have Tom Cruise as the lead. If you haven't guessed already then I'm talking about The Edge of Tomorrow. Maybe I'll write about that tomorrow. See what I did there? Hah.

Anyway,

Oblivion starts off after the world is wrecked by aliens. They are now harvesting what's left of the planets resources and have been doing so for 60 years. Tom is there to hinder that, and seek out and destroy any enemy forces that try and do such on his vicinity. He sees himself as the protector; protecting the planet from Alien invasion.

But all is not what in seems in this one. It's definitely worth a watch, I can't say much more or I'll spoil everything for you.

Cruises' Nemesis is played by Morgan Freeman, a ruthless alien hell bent on taking out Cruise in any way shape or form, and using whatever dirty tricks he has in his arsenal -- he sure provides a very real and imminent threat for Tom. And that's what makes the storyline so nice to follow. There's never a dull moment.

I always like films where, "all is not what it seems," The Edge of Tomorrow was like that and that's why it's up there with the greats.

This film brings a different twist though, a new storyline that even ventures further than The War of the Worlds. In the war of the worlds it was the Earths viruses and bacteria that defeated the aliens, and their venture on Earth was short lived, but in Oblivion we are presented with a post defeated earth, one that was on the brink of annihilation as the aliens try and harvest every last resource they can from it. And I've never seen a movie quite like it.

Never seen a movie where everything was bare, been harvested for around 60 years, and the audience sits and looks at the Earth dumbfounded, wondering how even Cruise manages to do the job he does knowing the world is over, or almost over.

Definitely worth a watch I'd say. I'd recommend it to anyone that likes a bit of sci fi.

Sort:  

I actully enjoyed this movie. Whenever there's a unique story that's rather interesting and you find out a long the way normally makes for a great movie.

It is a grate piece of Sci fi, a truly jewel from this actor.

The edge of tomorrow is one of my favorites! I don't know why but time stories drive me crazy