Pandorum - Existence in the Space Labyrinth

in CineTV25 days ago

There are movies that I think represent the sci-fi genre very well; one of them is the 2009 film Pandorum. It was quietly released and took its place in the archive. I think it is one of those films that has never and will never be appreciated for what it is worth.


source

Recently, during my research on the science fiction genre, I came across the movie again and watched it again. In addition to reliving the effect of the first time I watched it, my admiration for the script of the movie increased even more.

As a result of the world's population getting out of control, the world becomes uninhabitable and the search for a new planet begins. After a new planet is found, humans are sent there to colonize it. During the 120+ year journey, the passengers aim to complete the journey by going into hypersleep.

I remember a few movies with a similar scenario, but what sets Pandorum apart from them is that it starts with the events that unfold after the planned process is interrupted. Some of the crew, who are supposed to wake up every two years in rotation, wake up early and suffer from memory loss for a while, which makes the movie incredibly mysterious because the prominent characters of the movie learn what is going on at the same time as the audience.


source

The story, which remains a mystery for a while, also contains the theme of horror. As the events inside the space travel vehicle are revealed piece by piece, it's a bit creepy to experience the horrifying scenes. Even though I've seen the movie before, I can say that I enjoyed experiencing the same feelings, because it increases the pleasure of watching the movie tremendously.

The problem of trust between the two characters, who are the main protagonists of the movie, makes the movie a puzzle at some point. When you realize who is telling the truth in their trust problem, you have solved the puzzle. It provides excellent viewing pleasure in terms of immersion and transition scenes within the story.

Corporal Bower (played by Ben Foster) and Lieutenant Payton (played by Dennis Quaid) are the two main characters I mentioned and the ones who managed to wake up from the crew responsible for getting the spaceship to its destination. The acting performances of both of them are good, but Ben Foster is the one I found the most successful. The responsibility he took on and the way he displayed and reflected his skills in the challenges he faced was just one of the biggest pluses of the movie. I give the biggest plus to the script.


source

In fact, the film is reminiscent of Noah's Ark with the process of migration and colonization from earth to another planet. Considering that the salvation of humanity and the last hope is to continue living on another planet, we can easily make this analogy. Considering what we have done to the world, the possibility of fiction becoming reality in the future is not far away!

I can say with peace of mind that the movie Pandorum is an opportunity for science fiction lovers. Definitely watch the movie. The mystery and suspense in the movie can be seen as extra values because it takes the momentum of the story to a very high level. The only question mark that remains in my mind is how the species that emerged in the spaceship was formed. If anyone has seen the movie and knows this, I would appreciate it if you could share it in the comments. The only thing I can think of is that the first awakenings inside the spaceship evolved over time!


source

Thank you very much for being here and reading. I hope I have given you an idea about the movie. Have a good time and goodbye to everyone who will watch it!