SULTAN AGUNG : Tahta, Cinta, Perjuangan ( 2018)

in CineTV8 months ago

1840293878.jpg
Image Source


Hello hive friends!
It's been a long time since I last wrote a movie review on this community. I really miss writing and reading film reviews in this community. This time I want to write a review about a film that tells the history of the story of a king with the nickname Sultan Agung, which means great king. This film is based on a true story that occurred during the VOC colonial period in our country.

Before I review this film, I want to tell you about the reasons I watched this film. Honestly, I was very late in watching this film, in fact I was too late to find out about this film. At first I just felt bored and wanted to watch something on Netflix. Then I saw that there was a film called Sultan Agung on the film list. As a history lover, I immediately found out who the actors were and who the director was. After seeing the cast list, I wanted to watch it even more. Plus when I found out this film was made by one of the best directors in Indonesia. Yes, right! I have 3 reasons to watch this film, the first is because this film tells about the history of the Mataram kingdom, which is currently known as the city of Yogyakarta, which is also my hometown. The second and third reasons are because the cast and director of the film are known for their excellent work.


PLOT


The film begins by telling the story of Sultan Agung's youth. Raden Mas Rangsang, a student at a martial arts college, few know his identity as a prince. Even Lembayung, her lover, didn't know that Rangsang was a prince. Until one day, the king, Anyokrowati, died and required Rangsang as the most qualified prince to ascend the throne. Initially, Rangsang refused because he was not the crown prince. However, because the crown prince was deemed incapable of being a leader because he was mentally retarded, Rangsang ascended the throne to replace him.

Raden Mas Rangsang, who was still young at that time, was forced to give up his dream of becoming a scholar. He also had to give up his lover, Lembayung. As a king he had to marry the daughter of the Duke of Batang. That's enough for this film to tell the story of the great Sultan's youth. The next story is about his struggle as king of Mataram who struggled to unite the kingdoms in the archipelago to unite against the VOC amidst those closest to him who betrayed him.


My opinion after watching the film


Honestly, I have forgotten the history of the Mataram kingdom and others. Because it's an elementary school lesson and I graduated from elementary school a long time ago. But I've always liked stories about history. That's why I always enjoy watching historical drama films.

After watching this film, I remember a little about the history of the Mataram Kingdom. Apart from that, my knowledge continues to increase and makes me respect the heroes who have fought to defend our region from attacks by invaders. Without them, we might still be colonized today. I think this film is very good and recommended to watch. Indeed, there are several characters who are not in history but are in this film, but that's okay. I really enjoyed watching it, I even cried with emotion.

OK, I think that's enough for this review of the film Sultan Agung. I hope you enjoy reading my writing. For those of you who are curious after reading my article, you can immediately watch it on Netflix.



Thank you very much for reading this post. See you later!




IMG_20220507_073300_876.jpg

Devy Swan

Devy Swan is a girl with a lot of dreams and imagination.She likes cooking, singing and traveling. Recently, in the last two years to be exact, she started learning to write. Although her writing is still not very good, but she has a hope that one day she will have her own book.

Sort:  

I think I'll watching it before sleep!