La Casa De Papel | Best Series I've Watched yet? ENG

in CineTV2 years ago

Disclaimers and Information

Until now, I have never done a movie/series post about movies and I'm not exactly sure what I am doing, but hopefully I can get my thoughts and opinions out in a orderly fashion.

Today I want to talk about the Spanish Series "La Casa De Papel", it is on Netflix and currently just finished its' last season. I will try and not spoil anything for you new watchers, but give enough to hopefully get you interested in watching. As Netflix does go off of region, I know it is in the US version, and presumably most of Europe but I cannot find a source that lists all countries. Another notable feature, as by the title, the whole series is filmed in Spanish but Netflix does provide English dubbing for us English speakers. This could be annoying to some, but it honestly didn't bother me too much.

image.png

Source


Let's Get Into It

Short Description

La Casa De Papel A.K.A. "Money Heist" is a series in which a mastermind invites a bunch of hardened criminals to design his ultimate team of bandits and thugs. The mission for this team is to storm into the Royal Mint of Spain and pull of the biggest heist in history printing billions of Euros. For a heist like this, everything must go perfectly, which will be a tough task with criminals with absolutely nothing to lose.

My Analysis

I am not new when it comes to shows, I watch way more TV, YouTube, and more when it comes to entertainment than a typical person with a job should. However, it keeps my brain in a low spot or I overthink a ton. Nonetheless, out of all that I have watched, "Money Heist" has had some of the best imagery, fore-thought, and character development I've seen in quite a long time.

image.png

Source

Even though some of my favorite themes are dystopian future, robberies, prison breaks and such, I do see this series being for more than just those types of people. Money Heist adds many different aspects in that just pulls in all kinds of viewers, as long as the viewer is willing to watch the first episode.

Length and Viewer Retention

This series has 5 seasons, but the last season had 2 parts so it was essentially 6 in my eyes. I digress, the point is that even through all of those seasons, I was still addicted to the show. Most shows and especially movies these days have terrible sequels and fall into the pit of ruined reputation. However, six seasons in, it was still soo good! Don't get me wrong, I feel like season 2 or 3 was kind of in a lull in comparison to the others. BUT, here me out, it was still super good, and had their own twists to make things spicy.

image.png

Source

That gets into the next part, the way the producer kept the series going and staying fresh with content while all of the protagonists are in a Royal Mint Locked inside is insane. Most Series that lasts this long get really repetitive or the season is boring and uninteresting compared to what you fell in love with in the first place. La Casa De Papel keeps the storyline new and entertaining with new twists and mind teasers to make it feel as if you are watching the first season all over again.

Season 5 and the Ending

After having finished both parts recently, I can definitely say that Season 5 goes into the list of top 3 seasons for me out of the whole thing. If you were to ask me how it would end at the beginning of part one, heck even start of part 2, I would say I have no clue. This series is like having to run 1 mile but having no clue how far you ran until someone tells you to stop, and every little bit has a 90° turn in a different way.

Like a good series, character development should always be developing and constantly evolving the choices and opinions of characters, and I feel like I saw that throughout it all. Some characters I may have hated in the middle of the series changed my opinion by the end and I ended up liking them a ton. One specific character that I felt wouldn't change ended up being one of the biggest changes in the whole series and I could not stop rooting for him/her.

image.png

Source


Twitter Opinions

I don't know what some people are talking about, some say they didn't like the ending, others were confused about the hype around it (which there really isn't, not like Squid Game) but I don't get it, some of you are tripping. Out of a Netflix Production, this should make you awestruck from the clear view of attention to detail this idea had.

My Rating Overall

This series gets a solid 9/10 with the amazing imagery, themes, ideas, attention to detail, character development and more. This story/idea obviously took a ton of time and had to simmer while everything was ironed out. I legitimately did not notice any issues or mess-ups during the show, and I usually catch a fair bit of things that are too predictable or bad effects and such.

As for the ending, I give it a 8/10 as it was well crafted, and had a good road of emotions through it all. Trust me when I say this, you will NOT EXPECT the ending that comes out. There were some things I wish I could've changed to make it even better, but I am overall satisfied with the way things turned out. I would divulge my corrections but this is a spoiler-free zone 🙂


Thanks for reading!
Until next time...

UpdatedPeakDBanner-01.png

Sort:  

I am also fan of Money Heist but it's not best.

My top 3 three series would be,

1 Dark
2 Game of Thrones
3 Money Heist

It's my personal favorite.

Dark is your #1? Hmm someone suggested that one to me a bit ago but I have not been able to start it yet. I better soon then.

Can you tell me your top 3 series?

I don't have a full on list of my top 3, but I'd Say
1.) Money Heist (Netflix)
2.) See (Apple Original)
3.) Squid Game (Netflix)
there are more but these are the ones that popped in my head

My wife and I started watching this show when we first went into lockdown, but we haven't gotten around to watching the rest of it yet. I think we are caught up to season 4 or something like that, so we just have the last one. We have enjoyed it so far and it will be interesting to see how it call comes to fruition. To be honest, I can't even remember what was happening when we left off, so we might need to speed through some episodes to get a recap.

I highly suggest the recap, this series moves fast and snoozing out for 30 mins on one episode will throw you in a wake of confusion. Id say season 5 was 2nd best if not the best, so I hope you enjoy.

Congratulations @iikrypticsii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!