CineTV Contest: My favorite Classics

in CineTV2 years ago

Classics-05.png

I've been meaning to write this for days, I thought I wasn't going to be able to make it before the deadline... Hey all! I'm here for the Most Favorite classic films contest.

I have to say it wasn't easy mostly because, what makes a movie classic? does it have to be old? black and white? a hit? cult classic?

To me a classic is an ageless movie, one that either can represent a whole era, or in spite of being from past decades still has some impact and/or influence in modern movies.

separador-08.png

My favorite classics

Spielberg's Jaws.

I liked it ever since the first time I watched it as a kid. I can't remember exactly how old I was when I watched it but what I do remember is being anxious by the music, and on every underwater scene from the shark's POV made me lift my legs on the couch.

It's one of those movies I don't get tired of watching every time they're on tv.

As for the sequels I like them too but not as much as the first one, although I have to say, that the idea of sharks seeking revenge on one single family is appealing, it's said sharks are really smart so it's not crazy to think that they can recognize and remember people that mess up with their kind.


Back to the Future Trilogy

This one is simply great, my mom, my brother and I love the three movies.

At first I didn't get the whole story, I was a child so I couldn't understand it all, I didn't understand why there were two Martys... but I liked to see how 2015 could be, I was at kindergarten and I remember thinking that I would be using a hoover board by the time I reach 31 years old, I'm 37 and still waiting for a hoover board...

When I finally understood how the three where connected it was like a whole world unveiling, it was the first trilogy I watched and enjoyed.

What I like about this one is the fact that it doesn't feel like an 80's movie, it truly feels like it's happening now, even though their futuristic 2015 is now past for us but the flying cars, futuristic outfits and modern gadgets make it feel like a future we're heading towards.


A true Cult Classic in my opinion

It has comedy, supernatural creatures, nice visual effects, a great main title score that, amazing cast, a believable story in spite of it being silly.

This movie is one of my favorites, the scene that always comes to mind is Katherine O'Hara and company dancing around the dinning table with the Day-O song. That scene lives rent free in my head.

What makes it great for me, is the fact that it makes me wonder how would afterlife be, I don't know you but I think that having to work at an office after death is hell... and being doomed to wait for a very, very long time isn't very appealing either.

I like how even the background characters in the afterlife tell a whole story just by looking at them, they don't need to say a word to let you know what happened to them, some deaths seem funny but hide a tragedy that couldn't be prevented.

Keaton in this movie is really great, before this movie I only saw him on Batman and seeing him as a mischievous ghost who may or may not be evil was unexpected.

Wynonna Ryder is awesome as Lydia, she's fun even by acting all serious, but the one that really stands out in her acting is Katherine O-Hara, she's really funny as an exentric artist.


This one made me love zombie movies.

Night of the living dead was like the beginning of zombies as horror creatures, this movie is the one that made George Romero start his way on becoming "The father of all zombies"

The first version of this movie came out back in 1968, it had a low budget and it's easy to notice it with the cheap effects, later a remake came out in 1990.

The 90's version is the one that made me love zombie genre, it makes you fear slow corpses just because it's unknown what's happening, and let's be honest, we would all be scared if we find ourselves facing a corpse slowly approaching in order to take a chunk out of you.

I've seen many zombie movies, and even though now the zombies look amazing thanks to visual effects, amazing make up or CGI, they're all the same now, all fast almost indestructible things that makes me think that I'd be in a better physical shape if I were one of those un-dead than I am now.

This movie sets the rules for modern zombies, that they attack in hordes, that you can defeat them by destroying their brains, that they are reanimated corpses that have no intelligence, they just move by instinct following living things to feed themselves.

Also, the movie shows the kinds of survivors we find in different genre movies, we have the scared one who finds inner bravery through the whole story. there's the coward that hides and betrays everyone just to survive, we have the leader who in spite of being scared looks for solutions, there's also the naive one... It's easy to identify yourself with many of the characters and they all make you empathize with them, even with the hateful ones.

Unlike modern zombie movies, this one doesn't have the invincible hero who's able to figure it all out or who has abilities that makes you think they have superpowers, the group of survivors in this movie are believable characters trying to survive locked in a farm house.

This classic shows how it's easy to scare the audience by creating a claustrophobic atmosphere, and just by subtle noises or growls you can imagine a whole group of zombies just outside waiting for you to come out to your doom.


And those were some of my favorite classics, those movies I can watch over and over again. Movies whose formula has been copied but it's not easy to emulate the feeling this movies grow in you.

Nowadays we have plenty of sharks movies, some are good, others just focus on the gore and having a monster like huge shark haunting shores. Also there are movies that mock life after death but they can't make it as fun as Beetlejuice did.

And let's not start with modern zombie movies, most of them show only superstrong beings that are anything but reanimated corpses.

Thank you for taking your time for reading this entry, I appreciate it. See you around!


Until next time!


Banners designed by me with Ai.
Social media icons drawn by me with Procreate.

separador-08.png

LP.png

If you want to enjoy some cool mash up mixes, feel free to visit my brother LuigiParrinni's youtube channel.


You can find me at:

y

Social FB.png
Social Ig.pngSocial D.pngSocial Xbl.png

Sort:  

Excellent selection, my friend. It is one of my favorites😃👍🏼

🎥🎞️🎬🎫🎟️🍟🍿

Such great films! All classics IMO!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(14/20) tipped @pashinni (x1)

Join us in Discord!

You know, the Beetlejuice suggestion was certainly the one that stood out to me that you offered. It certainly stands out for all the right reasons! Tim

Great list! As a teen, I found Night of the Living Dead to be a great movie - not sure how it would hold up now, but definitely agree with that inclusion based on teenage me!

As for Back to the Future, it is likely still one of my favourites out there!

!1UP

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @mezume!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@cine-curator, @ccc-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.