Good Evil thoughts on The School for Good and Evil

in CineTV2 years ago

It was ok.

Obviously, I understand how hard it is for today's directors and things to produce actual good and engaging fantasy. Their souls have been burnt to a crisp with the tragic existence of faecal matter such as Game of Thrones and Stranger Things.

Fortunately, some are rising up and trying to use the bit of creativity they found during their last scrotum and or boob check.

 The School for Good and Evil
Netflix Screenshot | Free Mockup Generator

The School for Mildly Evil

Maybe this is a spoiler but no one in the show is truly evil, which is fine because there are many shows which are already evil just for existing so who needs that?

Bad is just so much more entertaining, and it works well in the movie.

So not to give you the entire plot which you can easily just figure out by watching the trailer:

It is an entertaining movie, and since I don't read girly books it delivered beyond expectation. The comments seemed upset with how it does not follow the books very well, and I only mention that so I have an extra line of text to write.

So I guess that is enough preamble.

The School for Good and Evil has a great cast but I also liked Hannah Montana, which would explain why I looked for the Disney logo more than once.

Seeing as Netflix is pretty much a big blob sucking up everything, signs of each network's golden days will be present in the results.

I liked that overall it really isn't about a clear-cut woke good and bad story, and when we finally see someone truly evil you are already rooting for baddies and goody two shoes alike.

It could have taken a dark turn a few times but mostly stayed inline and did not try to go for the shock factor just because it could. As a whole there are no boring bits really as it moves fast albeit skimming over some character depth even for the leads.

My favourite part is obviously a montage, and then I was happy to see shit hit the fan instead of like in some they bring you right back to yapping with feeling tedious scenes.

There could have been more battles and again the theme of social commentary on American schools which have no supervision for the kids so the bad guy can go around shagging everyone is prevalent.

That is to say, they made it clear in one scene that all the people in charge of the School have been removed and now it is up to our little rugrats to save the day.

Then ending... Well I think it was good and further reinforced that this is not some clear cut happy ever after story and more than that this is not some woke pill they are trying to get you to swallow.

The cast etc

I don't know anything about the cast aside from both leads are Sophia in real life which is cute I guess and amazingly the Director also directed that Ghostbusters movie with all the menopausians in it. So guess this is their last hope.

All in all it has solid fantasy elements, good use of magic and I found the humour to work for me. Pretty much it did not irritate me.

It could just be that I do not have anything else to watch but I do hope part 2 comes soon.

Posted using CineTV

Sort:  

Still haven't watched this. Lol just done wih ep 8 of Andor.

I love fantasy movies so i think i would like it
!1UP


I am not sure if you liked the movie or disliked it. I felt like you are in betwixt and between 😏

It was good enough, something a bit different, a moments of forgetfulness of the mundane world :P !PIZZA

It's nice that you could escape the insanity of the world for a while

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @gwajnberg!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@cine-curator, @bee-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@penderis(2/10) tipped @amberkashif (x1)
penderis tipped tj4real1 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

Haven't watched the series yet. But I will give it a try. It's so hard trying to find nice movies nowadays. All the movies are so much predictable with very few exciting scenes.

Agreed, at the very least you would they will try make just good no thinking and shoot everything fun movies. I guess that is why we are lucky we still have Ryan Reynold