You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Binge on This - Our Flag Means Death: Caribean Pirates from a Different Perspective

in CineTV2 years ago

@stortebeker I just watched the last series of Das Boot and loved it.

I read this funny review and thought you might enjoy it..

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2020/jun/06/das-boot-season-two-sky-atlantic

Sort:  

You keep surprising me, but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed Das Boot. And sure, that review is spot on about the 1981 movie. The series, in my opinion, is a lot more complex than what it describes as bearded men drama. - Though what do I know, having just recently shaved off a two-year beard. So now I'm quite excited to read your own review about it, if you were thinking about posting one.

I haven't written one.. I need to take notes to be able to write anything as smart as the reviews you write.

Loved Das Boot. I love any drama from either of those great wars, but it's refreshing to see it from both sides. I loved the sewer rats - their story was a great plot to drive the action and deepen the audience investment in the subs vs Captain Ahab. And the Gestapo officers story and demise was compelling too. Took me ages to place him as the man with no face from Game of Thrones!

Why do I suprise you?