Building a script from scratch.

in CineTV3 years ago (edited)

This publication was also written in SPANISH and PORTUGUESE.

writing_scripts.jpg

Pond5

I've probably already written something around here talking about the fact that I write screenplays. On my short list I have some completed short movie scripts, and one script (feature movie) in progress. Today, my idea in this post is to write a little bit about my construction process about creating the ideas to structure a script, complete starting from scratch until reaching its final part.

Even though I'm not a professional screenwriter, since I was very young, creating plots in my head is something I do very calmly. I'm not saying that building a script is easy (because it really isn't), but rather that I have a certain ease with imagining good storytelling, and through that my scripting processes are generally fluid because structures come naturally.

One of the first things I do (after I settle on what I want to write about) when I start writing a screenplay is to think about the end of it. This ends up being the most important part, because this has a fundamental weight in the plot. The beginning / middle of the script are obviously important... But they don't compare to the end, because the apex of the third act is what has the function of making an impact on the audience.

My inspirations arise anytime and anywhere. Whenever this happens, I write down on paper (or type / voice record on my smartphone) every fragment of idea I have. Any one of them can become a potential great narrative once I choose how to write it, and how it is the characters (often inspired by other people) that will be part of it. Endless possibilities to dive into new and different worlds.

Establishing impact points is another thing I usually do. No matter what I write about or how I write it, creating an "explosion point" in my scripts is mandatory. I consider the world around me (and also the world as a whole) as a big "laboratory" where I can create a parallel between my ideas and reality. This is a massive reflective exercise that I love to do whenever possible.


Construyendo un guión desde cero.

Probablemente ya haya escrito algo por aquí hablando del hecho de que escribo guiones. En mi lista corta tengo algunos guiones de cortometrajes completados y un guión (largometraje) en progreso. Hoy, mi idea en este post es escribir un poquito sobre mi proceso de construcción sobre cómo crear las ideas para estructurar un guión, completo desde cero hasta llegar a su parte final.

Aunque no soy guionista profesional, desde muy joven crear tramas en mi cabeza es algo que hago con mucha tranquilidad. No estoy diciendo que construir un guión sea fácil (porque realmente no lo es), sino que tengo cierta facilidad para imaginar una buena narración, y a través de eso, mis procesos de guión son generalmente fluidos porque las estructuras son naturales.

Una de las primeras cosas que hago (después de decidir sobre lo que quiero escribir) cuando empiezo a escribir un guión es pensar en el final. Ésta acaba siendo la parte más importante, porque tiene un peso fundamental en la trama. El comienzo / mitad del guión obviamente son importantes... Pero no se comparan con el final, porque la cúspide del tercer acto es lo que tiene la función de impactar en la audiencia.

Mis inspiraciones surgen en cualquier momento y en cualquier lugar. Siempre que esto sucede, escribo en papel (o escribo / grabo por voz en mi teléfono inteligente) cada fragmento de idea que tengo. Cualquiera de ellos puede convertirse en una gran narrativa potencial una vez que elija cómo escribirla y cómo serán los personajes (a menudo inspirados por otras personas) los que formarán parte de ella. Infinitas posibilidades para sumergirse en mundos nuevos y diferentes.

Establecer puntos de impacto es otra cosa que hago habitualmente. No importa sobre lo que escriba o cómo lo escriba, es obligatorio crear un "punto de explosión" en mis scripts. Considero el mundo que me rodea (y también el mundo en su conjunto) como un gran "laboratorio" donde puedo crear un paralelo entre mis ideas y la realidad. Este es un ejercicio de reflexión masiva que me encanta hacer siempre que puedo.


Construindo um roteiro do zero.

Eu provavelmente já devo ter escrito alguma coisa por aqui falando sobre o fato de eu escrever roteiros. Na minha pequena lista eu tenho alguns roteiros de curtas-metragens completos, e um roteiro (longa-metragem) em andamento. Hoje, a minha ideia neste post é escrever um pouco sobre este meu processo de construção sobre criar as ideias para estruturar um roteiro, completo começando do zero até chegar à sua parte final.

Apesar de eu ainda não ser um roteirista profissional, desde muito pequeno, criar tramas na minha cabeça, é algo que eu faço com muita tranquilidade. Eu não estou dizendo que construir um roteiro é fácil (porque isso realmente não é), mas sim, que eu tenho uma certa facilidade de imaginar boas narrativas, e através disso os meus processos construtivos de roteiros geralmente são flúidos porque as estruturas surgem naturalmente.

Uma das primeiras coisas que eu faço (depois que eu estabeleço sobre o que eu quero escrever) quando eu começo a escrever um roteiro é pensar no final dele. Essa acaba sendo a parte mais importante, porque isso tem um peso fundamental na trama. O começo / meio do roteiro obviamente são pelas importantes... Porém não se comparam ao final, porque o ápice do terceiro ato é o que tem a função causar impacto no público.

Minhas inspirações surgem a qualquer momento e em qualquer lugar. Sempre que isso acontece, eu escrevo no papel (ou digito / gravo por voz no meu smartphone) todo fragmento de ideia que eu tenho. Qualquer um deles pode se tornar uma grande narrativa em potencial uma vez que eu escolho como escrever, e como são os personagens (inspirado muitas vezes em outras pessoas) que farão parte dela. Possibilidades infinitas de mergulhar em novos e diferentes mundos.

Estabelecer pontos de impacto é outra coisa que eu costumo fazer. Não importa sobre o que eu escrevo ou como eu escrevo, criar um ponto de "explosão" nos meus roteiros é algo obrigatório. Eu considero o mundo ao meu redor (e também o mundo como um todo) como um grande "laboratório" onde eu consigo criar um paralelo entre as minhas ideias e a realidade. Este é um exercício reflexivo de grandes proporções que eu gosto muito de fazer sempre que possível.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.