My disappointment after watching the "Abigail" horror film.

in CineTV15 days ago

Image created using CANVA.

Hello guys! Happy Thursday! I am here again because I watched a horror movie today since I was bored. I started watching the movie at 9:57 a.m. and time check, it's 11:52 am when I finished watching the movie and started writing this blog.

Maybe you're curious why I watched a horror movie in the morning instead of watching a Rom-com movie or any series. Well, it's because I am not really scared of watching horror. I can watch it anytime, even at 3 a.m. because I get used to thinking that horror movies are not actually true and that those ghosts in the movies are just people living and earning some money to do their job. What just scared me is that I can see a ghost—a real ghost in real life! I've had a lot of experience with that, too. But the real thing that makes me scared is losing someone I love the most in my life. Ehhh! Cheesy. Corny.

While scrolling through something to watch on my Loklok app, I went to the movies and saw this one. The title of this movie is "Abigail."

Image Source from: Wikipedia

What a beautiful name, right? I was curious why she was wearing a gown in the poster with blood. Then here I am, wondering if she died because they killed her. Just like a typical back story in some movies. And because of this curiosity, I decided to watch it.


1000028701.jpg

At the beginning of the movie, I noticed her shoes. This shoe is known as a pointe shoe, correct? Anyway, I noticed these shoes because I wondered before how some ballerinas stood, danced, and balanced using them, and now I know why. Haha, but still, it's easy on our eyes to use this shoe, but it's actually not.

1000028702.jpg

Okay, at the opening of this horror movie, they didn't put in a lot of effort. They just show the title, and it's giving me old vibes of how the movie was made back then.

When the movie's story started to get serious, I noticed that this old and haunted mansion was not giving me any scary feelings.

1000028710.jpg

It just looks simple to me. Sorry, but I'm just curious about the protagonist's role here—if she will be the last survivor, or if her role here will be the ghost. I'm not paying attention to the things or what since the genre of the movie that I am watching is horror. So obviously, there are some old places, old houses, and anything that will make you feel scared. I really got used to it.

1000028711.jpg

1000028712.jpg

After this man said this, I have a feeling that he will be the antagonist of this movie. I think he is hiding something. Like that. I don't really trust this man because of his obvious actions when he appeared. Hmm.. Let me see. And because of him, the story of this movie became interesting to me.

1000028719.jpg
1000028720.jpg

Okay, I feel a little sadness about this girl's story about her family because I remember my father, who abandoned us when I was 14 years old.

1000028723.jpg

What I just don't understand is that after that scene, the scare begins. Like, how? What just happened?

1000028725.jpg

I thought that this movie had a few romance scenes, and I was prepared for what happened next, but I feel disappointed. Charought!

Disappointed? Really shanreyo? I wanted to spank my head for that thought.

It's just an assurance and a few temptations as a friend or ally.

1000028726.jpg

What makes me feel shocked is that this character was the first one to be attacked. My first impression of him when I first saw him in the beginning was that he was the type of person who had the ability to save himself or others, even though he looked like a psychopath. He looks strong, and he can think well.

1000028730.jpg

1000028731.jpg

Oh, okay, on this part, I was wondering if it's really a ghost. But why did there's a brutal thing that happened?

1000028739.jpg

And here on this part, I started to have a feeling that one of them was a traitor. I was angry with myself, you know, because I started to question why this is the movie that I chose to watch because I think I need to become an investigator to know which of them are the real killers. whether they are real or not in their actions. I also needed to complete the puzzle and the answers to the questions while I was watching.

1000028750.jpg

My reaction after this was, Oh! Okay. I get it! The kid is not real, and I started to understand the happenings. My confusion was because of the protagonist's act. I was surprised because it was good.

1000028748.jpg

1000028751.jpg

1000028756.jpg

What I really liked about this movie is that there were also a few funny scenes from the characters. Especially the last picture. Imagine you're a vampire, but you can still manage to say Jesus name in front of humans.

1000028759.jpg

Watching this scene made me remember the "Wednesday" movie. Because they also danced here. But Wednesday Adams is more good at dancing. Charought! Well, from here, I started to feel like this movie was not a horror but a comedy. A vampire that dances and has a special number, like a talent? What?

After watching this movie, I feel disappointed. Because it's not the horror movie that I wanted to watch. I am not scared, and I laughed at some scenes that were supposed to be scary. I started to feel enjoyment in the interesting part because there's a scene that makes me feel wondering,confused, and focused on the story. But why, all of a sudden, has this movie become a comedy instead of a horror?

I also disliked the actions and the looks; it's not scary at all because I don't even feel shocked, especially in the parts that should be shocking, and for the ending, I am not satisfied. It's like a children's story that needs closure for everything that happened at the end.

So this is all I can say about this movie. My rating is 6.5/10. It's a comedy, not a horror, for me. But still, I can't recommend this to kids because of the brutal scenes and censorious words.

Anyway, I've been looking for a scary film that will make my heart race and leave me feeling stunned and shocked. Is there a scary film you might recommend to me?

THANKS FOR READING!


PUBLISHED BY: @xanreo
DATE: May 9, 2024

All screenshots are captured by me while watching this horror film. I didn't upload more screenshots to avoid too much spoilers.

Sort:  

Ehhh, the poster looks really catchy though, I'm not really into horror movie, mabibilang sa kamay yong napanood ko na horror ee lol. Saka magugulatin ako so baka diko to e add sa watch list ko. UwU, pero seriously now ko lang narinig tong movie na to. Wala masyadong nagsishare sa fb about this or baka diko lang nakikita no

Ehhh, the poster looks really catchy

That's why I watched it ate ropa. Nacurious me why Abigail ang name and if she's the mumu like Chuckie mga ganun.

pero seriously now ko lang narinig tong movie na to. Wala masyadong nagsishare sa fb about this or baka diko lang nakikita no

I think, 'di siya ganon ka sikat. Basa mo sa review ko ate ropa? Namali ata sila ng genre. Di dapat horror to eh. Dapat Comedy kasi di naman ganun nakakatakot. Mas matatawa kapanga 😂