Dancing Dragons

in ColorChallenge2 years ago

I found this community ColorChallenge that really spoke to me because - COLORS

Being a visual artist I always have an eye out for colors and, of course, use them all the time in my paintings.

pink&purple&teal.JPG

So, naturally, when I found this community I was like 'YAY'. Yet after poking around a little I wonder if it is still alive because the owner seems to have left Hive in September and she was the only owner/leader/mod.


Does anyone know what happens to a community if it is... without a leader?

Then again maybe it doesn't really matter. Does it? I would assume it does but I don't really know how communities work. If anyone could point me to some resources, reading materials, I'd really appreciate it.

For now, I'll just not worry about it and will post in the ColorChallenge Community. The theme or rather the color(s) for Sundays is right down my alley. Just have a look at the snippet of thumbs in my Lightroom catalog - it is full of pinks, purples, and teals.

Sundays are PINK / PURPLE

It is fair to say that I have enough pink or purple paintings or photos to fill every Sunday for years.

2020-12-29 08.26.08.jpg

I'll start with this painting from 2020. It really started out as an exercise to loosen up before diving into some more watercolors. But I had so much fun with it that I just kept going.

I applied the different tones of red, pink, and purple one after the other very liberally in a very fluid form. Before the paints dried I went in with very fine brushes and also the top of a brush and pulled out the wet paint into those feathered shapes you see. I also added salt to the wet paint.

Once those layers were dry I brushed off the salt crystals and added some more defining brushstrokes always following the flow of what was already on the paper. I let that dry as well and finished the piece by adding some golden dots.

Sadly I didn't take any process pictures which is quite unusual for me. Normally I take a ton of photos with my phone to see the painting small and with a fresh set of eyes. I like to compare this to how traditional painters used to and still use a mirror to look at their WIP.

2020-12-29 08.25.59-1.jpg

This here is the entire finished piece, don't they look like Dancing Dragons? Whenever I look at it, that is what I see.

And below are a couple of close-ups that I took. You can nicely see the graininess of the paint and patterns left by the salt crystals.

I hope you like this painting and had a wonderful (pink/purple) Sunday!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee


2020-12-29 08.26.23.jpg

2020-12-29 08.26.29.jpg


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

divider.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very beautiful :)

Thank you very much for leaving such kind words!

It's beautiful! I love it. At first I was thinking more along the lines of some sort of Lovecraftian sea-space monster, but I can also see the dancing dragons :)

I hope the community is still alive for your sake :/ But either way, fantastic work!

Ooooh, Lovecraftian sea-space monster - I like that a lot!

Not sure about the community, I talked to a couple of people on Discord and they suggested maybe starting a new one with a similar theme - but I don't know.

Thanks for your kind words!!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more