You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real men eat meat

in Education2 years ago

It's a strong lie that we're living and you've been living it ever since you were born. [...] But it's time to wake up.

I am fascinated by the psychological impact of this. For me, it is a kind of "cognitive dissonance" where you know you should not but you still do. I tend to not want to go near any shops and source food that I myself grow or know the farmer who produced the goods. But again, this cognitive dissonance that plagues me. I feel so useless in the bigger scheme of things due to all the people who look down upon us who question their docile behavior, mindlessly buying and enriching the "overlords".

In any case, awesome post! It read very similar to a book I read a couple of years ago by Grayson Perry, The Descent of Man. Have you read it or come across it?

Sort:  

I can't say I've read that!

I still find it hard sometimes to be honest. Yesterday, I made hubby a vegetarian burger with cheese in it and I have to say, the melted cheese smelled so good. I just have to remember the horrors that went behind making it.
I think for many, it's just a kind of convenience. We've all learned to cook with animal products and to go without means you have to learn to cook new things. That's what makes meat replacements and plant-based milk/yoghurt/cheese so handy for the busy people (or the ones with picky husbands 😅). That just leaves the courage to try something new and not give up after one bad product :-)

Exactly, I agree with everything you say!

the melted cheese smelled so good

Isn't that one of the major problems 😅 The lure of these products that "seduce" us with their flavors and securities.

it's just a kind of convenience

Isn't this the "western conundrum"? We are so used to convenience itself that when someone takes away their bacon and meat patty and cheese the world ends. There are so many alternatives and people need to experiment more! I know it's kind of utopian to think in this line, but I recently watched some videos from Michael Pollan and his philosophy is that we need to cook for ourselves. Again, in modern capitalism most people do not have time, but like he said in one of his videos: people will only make french fries every month or so because it's so much work to make them. Convenience and fast food enable us to eat them almost daily. Sorry, I am going down a different line of thought now 😅😅