Sort:  

I would say that it depends on the topic. However, I agree that standard lectures could be mostly done online.

Before the pandemic, you already had some online graduate courses for example! I don't know how it is in France, but what I saw in my former graduate program is that weekly talks started to be online, and in my time they were on site, so the conference room was far from my lab, so I used to spend lots of times in the process of going there and coming back... I know that there is some cons! I registered myself in some virtual conferences online during the pandemic, what happened is that I continued to work while in these conferences, and sometimes I missed some talks that I wouldn't if I were there on site.

Before the pandemic, you already had some online graduate courses for example!

Sure. It was just not that generalised.


I guess here we must distinguish courses given to the young ones (students in their first year of their studies) to the advanced ones, including workshops, graduate and post-graduate events, and conferences.

For the youngest students, I always recommend a mixed program: do online what does not strictly require an on-site presence, and use the on-site time for new kind of activities (for instance active-learning-based sessions), or for stuff that cannot be done online (like lab classes). This is at least how I teach now to the young ones.

For the rest, I agree with you. I did the same as you related to conferences and workshops, and I have never attended so many events in a year. However, we don't enjoy them as much for the reason you mentioned: we always multitask... In short, we must make concession and try to stay disciplined (which is not easy). Also, great projects often originate from coffee-break discussions. With online events, this is not possible anymore.

Anyway, I stop here (for now ;) ).

Cheers!

Hello @gwajnberg it is a pleasure to greet you, in the particular case of our university institution we were teaching face-to-face classes, but the pandemic forced to virtual classes, hence from my point of view at present I only teach the basic theoretical knowledge virtually and the more complex content and practices in a face-to-face way.

This allows me to have a little more time to devote to other activities. See you later, have a great weekend. Success

Hello @gwajnberg it is a pleasure to greet you, in the particular case of our university institution we were teaching face-to-face classes, but the pandemic forced to virtual classes, hence from my point of view at present I only teach the basic theoretical knowledge virtually and the more complex content and practices in a face-to-face way.

This allows me to have a little more time to devote to other activities. See you later, have a great weekend. Success