Academic year begins

in Education3 years ago

Kerala
India
Year - 2021
Month - June

The academic year of 2021-2022 began today. Online, of course.
The popular actor Mammotty spoke on television with an emotional touch about how he misses the smell of new books. I do too. The monsoon rains usually begin on June first, the same day school reopens and we used to wear our uniforms and go to school in the school bus, excited to meet our friends and greet the new admissions.

The scramble to see the new classroom, the expectation of getting a new class teacher, new timetable and above all to check if we had more 'free periods' and to smell the new books.

When we were in the ninth grade, our geography teacher walked into the classroom with an apologetic smile. It seems that our geography textbooks were sent by train from the NCERT I believe and unfortunately, the pile of books was kept near a fish basket which tripped over and the whole set of books were not only stained but smelled horrible. I can still sense the smell we had to suffer and the look of disdain we all had on our faces each time we took out the textbook.

School is a place that is still very dear to me and I am in touch with my classmates which is a blessing considering I have no contact with my college mates at all.

Coming back to this year, it is a year of people trying to hold it together and I appreciate the government for opening the schools online. It has been observed that a lot of children are experiencing hyperactivity because of being stay put in the same home surroundings and not connecting with other children, especially the smaller ones.

I am not sure about other states or countries around the world but I do hope the authorities try to keep the children engaged and become more immune too by slowly lifting the lockdown.

The senior secondary board examinations conducted by the CBSE board has been cancelled and I am not sure how my nephews are going to plan their future studies.

Wishing all the best for all the students.

Meanwhile, sharing a video


source

Please do watch the video and share it

Sort:  

Hello @sayee, Your publication has been voted by Edu-venezuela. Your post will carry over to other curation projects for more voting support. Keep up the good work!